Wellness Wednesday–My Approach to Healthy Living

Hey there everyone! Sorry to be joining you all so late in the day, I wasn’t feeling so well last night as I sat down to write this morning’s blog post. Luckily, I’m working from home today between a hair appointment I had this morning (yes, the blonde got even MORE blonde) and a physical therapy session later this afternoon, so I have some time to write up a post for the day!

20150730_170625-1

In order to fully understand my passion for healthy living today, you really have to know the path I had to take to get here. Once upon a time, I thought weighing a certain amount or fitting into size 0 jeans played a big role in who I was as a person. I went through a period of time where I would avoid certain social situations in order to maintain my rigid eating schedule because who knew what would happen if I went out for drinks or ate french fries with my friends. Little did I realize, this wasn’t actually LIVING, but more surviving from day to day to make sure I fit into all of my skinny clothes.

Fast forward to now and I can happily say I have completely turned my life around. When I’m hungry–I eat. Yes, sometimes that means I have yogurt, fruit, or veggies, but that also means sometimes I reach for a cookie, popcorn, or chips. Life is all about balance and if there’s one thing I’ve learned through my ED experience, it’s that our bodies are incredible things that we should cherish and reward for helping us do things we love every day rather than punish for not fitting a certain mold.

In the future, I definitely plan on jumping on the What I Ate Wednesday bandwagon found throughout the blog world because I absolutely love getting new ideas on snacks and meals from other bloggers’ posts and hope to spread the same happiness to any readers I may have. My daily eats will be reflective of my new, healthy living habits rather than restrictive and extremely “clean”. And that makes me even more excited to share with you! 🙂

Have a fabulous Wednesday!

What are your favorite snacks?

Do you ever struggle with finding balance in your healthy living habits?

4 thoughts on “Wellness Wednesday–My Approach to Healthy Living

  1. So great to read such a positive post! You’re clearly doing so well with recovery. I’m a few months in and generally doing well but have the odd blip. When I was super enthusiastic about recovery I loved having scones with butter – yummo! Nx

    Like

  2. This is great! We have very similar mindsets. I am not fully recovered from my eating disorder but as know that I get closer every day. Snack wise I love anything dipped in peanut butter!

    Like

    • I’m so happy you’re on the right path Cassie! Let me know if there is any way I can help you. I know how hard recovery can be, but as long as you keep on the right path, you’ll make it through and life will be so much better! Keep eating that peanut butter–it’s my favorite too 🙂

      Like

Leave a Reply

