A Day in the Life

Hi Friends! How is everyone’s Thursday morning going so far? My day will more than likely be crazy busy with a full day of meetings at work followed up with a full night of packing and cleaning as I get ready to head home for the weekend for the wedding of two of my good friends. I’m so excited to get the chance to celebrate with both of them on their special day and can’t wait to introduce Bart to a lot of my good friends from high school. Should be a fun weekend!

On another note, I thought I would bring you all a “Day in the Life” post today. I’m a pretty new blogger and think this will be a great chance for me to give you all a little more insight into my world. This recaps my day yesterday which was filled with work, two appointments, and a yummy new dinner recipe. Enjoy!

5:20AM: Alarm goes off and I pop out of bed. If I don’t get up right when the alarm goes off, there’s a good chance I won’t be able to get up at all.

5:30AM: Out the door and headed for the gym. I’m definitely a morning person in terms of working out, most likely from the thousands of hours of work I put in at the pool before the sun rose throughout my life.

5:40-7:00AM: Gym time! Today’s workout consisted of a 45 minute elliptical workout (will share soon!) followed up with a weight lifting workout found on Julie‘s blog and some stretching. It felt good to get moving this morning and I’m excited to finally start seeing some muscle tone after taking a break from working out to get healthy again.

7:10AM: Chug this protein shake while getting ready for the day. Vanilla Lean Muscle Milk is my jam after a good weight lifting sesh!

20150805_072754

7:50AM: Out the door to make my way into the city for a much-needed date with my hair stylist. On the way, I chug down this mug of coffee and a bowl of my favorite overnight oats!

These babies include 1/3 cup of oats, 1/3 cup of vanilla greek yogurt, 1/3 cup of vanilla almond milk and a spoonful of peanut butter and jelly plus a pinch of cinnamon all mixed up and refrigerated overnight. I added a sliced banana on top this morning as well. Super Yummy!

8:45-10:30AM: Hair appointment and catching up with my stylist after a few months away. Love a good hair cut!

11AM: Get back home starved and race to the fridge for this Chobani yogurt. I guess this morning’s workout really kicked my metabolism into overdrive and this was just what I needed to tie me over until lunch.

20150805_111045

11:15-1PM: Call into a few meetings for work and do a little work on my laptop.

1:15PM: Lunch time! This yummy salad came from a kit I bought at Costco last week and included kale, broccoli, carrots, red chard, snap peas, and teriyaki sauce topped with some rotisserie chicken and rice crackers served on the side. I chowed down on this as I called into another meeting and it filled me right up!

lunch

1:15-3:50PM: Work, work, work!

4:00PM: Physical Therapy appointment. I hurt my knee recently while training for a half marathon I wanted to run in September and found out that my running style is severely impacting my knees and ankles. I run extremely heavy on my heels, so my ankles collapse inward whenever I step, causing my knees to do the same.  I’m in the process of strengthening my lower body and learning how to run the right way (hopefully this will help me drop time in my next half marathon 😉 ).

5:00-6:00PM: Go pick up Bart. Traffic today was HORRIBLE today, probably because I’m used to Bart picking me up rather than having to be the driver. Either way, it was nice to catch up with him after a long day, so I can’t complain too much! I was starving on the drive over and luckily found a slightly smashed granola bar at the bottom of my bag to tie me over as I sat in Seattle traffic.

weird

This called to me as soon as I walked in the door. I’m telling you guys–my stomach was like a bottomless pit today!

apples

7:30PM: Around 6:45, we decided we should probably start dinner if we were planning on making this new recipe tonight. We LOVED this pesto pasta with chicken sausage. We added sautéed mushrooms and mini cheese tortellini noodles from Trader Joe’s since Bart has a serious cheese addiction and it turned out delicious! I highly recommend!

dinner

7:30-10:00PM: Get this blog ready and veg out on the couch with Bart watching TV for the rest of the night until he leaves to go home. I’ve gotta say, some of the best nights are spent being lazy on the couch binge watching Modern Family. Plus these bowls of ice cream happened. I mean what kind of day is it if you don’t end it with something sweet??

ice cream

10:15PM: I head off to bed to get ready for another busy day tomorrow!

And that’s a wrap! I hope you all have a fabulous day today and come back tomorrow for some Friday Favorites. 🙂

Have you ever had a running-related injury and had to undergo PT?

What were some of the highlights of your day yesterday?

Leave a Reply

