Weekend Recap!

Hey, hey, hey readers! How was everyone’s weekend? Mine was fabulous and included some much-needed relaxation, family bonding, a beautiful wedding, and a TON of yummy eats! As you know, Bart and I made the trek over to Eastern Washington this weekend to attend the wedding of two of my good friends and visit my family for the last time before summer ends.

driving

When we arrived Friday night, my parents and grandparents greeted us with a glass of much-needed white wine for me (and beer for Bart of course) followed up with quite the spread of cheesy potatoes, zucchini, fresh rolls, snickers salad, and my dad’s famous BBQ chicken. In the Gant household, we definitely know how to eat! No pictures here as I was too busy stuffing my face and catching up with everyone, but trust me when I tell you it was delicious! After dinner, we took the party outside to the back patio as it was still in the mid-80’s outside and continued to catch up while enjoying my mom’s homemade no-bake cookies (recipe will come soon–you can’t beat these!) and ice cream. Needless to say, we all went to bed with full tummies and couldn’t get over how delicious everything had turned out!

The next morning was started out as any morning back in Eastern Washington should be, relaxing with coffee and breakfast outside on the back patio. Can’t beat the peacefulness and the view!

coffee

After the boys left to go golf, my mom, grandma, and I decided to take the dogs for a walk around our neighborhood before heading out to go for a test run on the course for my mom’s first 5K run next weekend. It’s so nice to be able to get a workout in that can be completely social too! Back in the dark days of my eating disorder, this never could have happened if I hadn’t ran at least 6 miles on my own beforehand and I must say, the extra weight I had to put on to enjoy times like this without worry was totally worth it!

momrun

The night was filled with yummy nachos, crab and cream cheese-filled potato skins, and this AMAZING drink down on the river. It’s called up a Rum Barrel and I absolutely 100% recommend this to anyone who loves sweet mixed drinks! Even the boys enjoyed them, tapping out for the night after 2 of these bad boys.

rum barrel

The next day, Bart and I headed out to Lake Chelan to attend Kirsten and TJ’s wedding after a slow-moving morning. Kirsten and TJ had been together all throughout high school and college, so it was so fun to be able to watch them finally tie the knot after all of these years! Their venue was absolutely gorgeous and the ceremony and reception had a bunch of little personal touches that made it even more intimate. It was beautiful from start to finish and we had a blast celebrating with them!

wedding

Now we are headed back to the city with full hearts, ready to attack this work week which is bound to be very busy. It’s crazy how two short days back at home with friends and family can instantly recharge us, but I’m so thankful to have such a laid-back place to escape to whenever I need it. Perks of small town living 🙂

Hope you all have a wonderful Monday!

What’s your favorite part about going back home?

Any exciting stories from this past weekend?

4 thoughts on “Weekend Recap!

Leave a Reply

