Workouts and Eats

Happy Tuesday everyone! I hope your weeks all got off to a great start yesterday and you’re having a fabulous morning. I started out the day as usual at my 6AM RPM class followed by a tough 15-minute core circuit before jetting back home to get ready for work. I tend to follow a pattern in my weekly workout, which makes my life a little easier because I know what I’m going to be doing each time I go to the gym. Part of the challenge I had initially after I finished my swimming career was knowing how to continue to workout and train on my own when I wasn’t preparing for a certain meet or race. I’ve always been very goal-driven, so I’ve learned that setting somewhat of a pattern in my weekly workouts enables me to set goals for myself each day to get better in whatever workout I may be doing. It’s definitely a lot different than shooting for times in the water in order to qualify for certain meets, but it seems to make me work hard every morning in the gym, so I’m just going to keep rolling with it 🙂

This is a snapshot of what my typical workout schedule looks like right now:

  • Monday– 20 min. Run/Elliptical + BodyPump or a weighted circuit
  • Tuesday– RPM + Core Circuit
  • Wednesday–40 minute Run/Elliptical + shorter weighted circuit/30-min. of BodyPump
  • Thursday–RPM + Core Circuit
  • Friday–Pure Barre or Yoga
  • Saturday–GRIT Strength + RPM or a nice run depending on the weather

One of the beauties of recovering from my exercise-induced eating disorder is that I can be so much more flexible with my workouts based on how my body is feeling. For so long I would push myself to exhaustion every day in order to “make the workout count”, which led me to be completely exhausted for the remainder of the day and brought on a number of injuries because I wouldn’t let my body fully rest. Now, if I’m tired or just not feeling like doing the workout on my schedule, I have no problem switching things up and doing something more low-impact like a yoga or barre class. And that most definitely makes working out stay enjoyable rather than turn into the hassle that it used to be!

On another note–today I’m bringing you some of my favorite recipes from around the web. Bart and I are both extreme foodies and love cooking together every night. It seems to be a way for both of us to unplug from our phones and laptops for an hour to spend time together and catch up on how each other’s day went. Plus, after all of our “work” in the kitchen, we get to enjoy yummy meals at the end of it all every night (for the most part–some recipes don’t quite turn out as expected!). If you’re looking for some way to connect with a significant other or good friend, cooking can definitely be the avenue to get you there!

cheesecake

Cheesecake in a Mug: Some days just call for a little something sweet. These mini cheesecakes are the perfect size and taste like the real thing! Bart and I love adding raspberries or strawberries to them and topping them with crushed graham cracker instead of the vanilla wafer. We typically make them as we’re finishing up cooking dinner because they have to sit for two hours before you can eat them. Super easy and definitely satisfying!

pesto-chicken-flatbread-no-wm

Pesto Chicken Flatbread: This is a staple meal in our lives. Bart is always in charge of the meats (in this case-chicken) and I make sure to prep everything else in the meantime. We top ours additionally with sautéed mushrooms and onions and cook up our own chicken on the stovetop rather than using a rotisserie chicken. We also use Greek Pita flatbread from Costco as our base, which makes this meal even that much easier and delicious. If you aren’t a fan of pesto, these same flatbreads can be used to create mini pizzas as well!

honey chicken

Baked Honey-Garlic Chicken: This chicken is all of the goodness of chinese food in a less greasy fashion! The honey garlic sauce seriously makes the dish and is yummy to put on top of rice even without the chicken. We typically serve ours with rice and a side of some sort of veggie and always are completely satisfied afterward.

avocado burritos

Chicken Avocado Burritos: Another staple meal. These burritos absolutely hit the spot every night we have them. Bart and I like to add sautéed mushrooms and onions to these little guys as well and seriously just can’t get enough of them! Cooking them on the stovetop gives them the extra crunch that makes them even more yummy.

Although all of these recipes are fairly healthy, that doesn’t mean I don’t enjoy fried and greasy foods every now and then as well. Like I’ve said before, life is all about balance and giving your body what it wants and needs. Sometimes that means baked chicken and a cardio workout and sometimes that means deep fried chicken and some yoga. 🙂

Have a wonderful day everyone!

What is your favorite recipe from the web?

Do you have a favorite workout? Always looking for new ideas! 

2 thoughts on “Workouts and Eats

    • Hi Dana! That’s so cool you get to travel up to Seattle a lot. I love it here, especially since we’ve had such a beautiful summer. The burritos are amazing, so you’ll definitely have to give them a try! Have a great day 🙂

      Like

Leave a Reply

