Weekend Recap & Weekly Workouts

Happy Monday everyone! Hope you all had a fabulous and relaxing weekend. Mine was definitely just that and seemed to fly by way too fast. If you read my post last Friday, you know Bart and I were lucky enough to score tickets to the preseason opener for the Seattle Seahawks in my company’s suite. The game was tons of fun and although we didn’t walk away with the win, everyone agreed that Seattle will be just fine this year as most of our starters are returning and should be ready to go by the real season opener.

usatgame

One of the best parts about sitting in the suite was having access to free food and drinks throughout the entire game. The suite had nachos, hot dogs, sliders, jalapeño mac and cheese, and these yummy chicken wraps that I couldn’t get enough of. At halftime, they brought out my personal favorite of the night,  12th man cupcakes.

cupcake

All in all, we had an amazing night and were SO happy to have seats inside because it just so happened that Seattle chose to pour rain all day that day even though it’s been 80+ degrees everyday so far this summer. Funny how it works out like that!

seahawks

Saturday was a lot more laid back, which I gladly welcomed after my crazy week. I started the morning with a good ole’ GRIT Strength class followed by 45 minutes of kick-butt RPM spinning while Bart did his own HIIT weight training workout. Bart is definitely more into lifting than I am, so he creates some really awesome HIIT workouts. I’m definitely more of a cardio girl, but have been enjoying lifting more and more each week. It feels good to know I’m getting stronger and after taking such a long break from working out to get healthy, it’s nice to see some muscle tone in my arms again.

smoothiesat
This baby included: 1 container of Chobani Raspberry Greek Yogurt, Frozen strawberries, 1 Banana, a handful of spinach, a spoonful of Peanut Butter and enough Almond Milk to get it moving (about a cup)

After working out, Bart and I came back to my apartment to enjoy our post-workout Smoothie Saturday (a norm in our weekly routine) and then planted our butts on the couch to watch movies for the remainder of the day. That’s right; aside from a quick run to the grocery store to buy things to make sushi that night, we didn’t do a single thing the rest of the day and it was amazing! Lazy, rainy days are truly the best.

Sunday was pretty laid back, too. After church Sunday morning, we headed downtown for brunch with Bart’s family. It was absolutely gorgeous in Seattle, so we spent the entire morning and early afternoon eating and catching up while soaking up the sun. Brunches are probably one of my all-time favorite social events. Can’t beat awesome food and conversation for hours on a day with no commitments 🙂

brunch

After stuffing our bellies, we did a little grocery shopping and went on a walk around the neighborhood since it was just too gorgeous to spend the day inside. The rest of the night was spent watching a little TV and getting ready for the week ahead. It’s definitely going to be another crazy one, but I’m rejuvenated and ready to attack it! 🙂

Weekly Workouts

As inspired by Ashley, here’s a recap of my workouts this past week:

  • Sunday- Off day
  • Monday-45 minute Elliptical Workout & 30 minute weights circuit
  • Tuesday-RPM & 10 minutes of Core
  • Wednesday-Off day
  • Thursday-RPM & 10 minutes of Core
  • Friday-45 minute Elliptical Workout & 30 minute weights circuit
  • Saturday-GRIT Strength & RPM + Foam Rolling

What I liked about my workouts:

This week had a pretty good mix of strength and cardio training. I’m trying my best to incorporate more weights workouts into my routine and can already tell that I’m starting to get stronger. I’m also really proud of the fact that I was able to take a day off from working out in the middle of the week completely guilt-free. During my eating disorder days, I would have found a way to squeeze in a workout or felt guilty and kept myself from eating a lot throughout the day to compensate. This time, I knew sleeping in would be better for me than making myself get up early to workout and had no problem taking that extra hour to catch up on sleep, which made my day a whole lot better!

What I can improve: 

This week was a pretty solid week overall, so there isn’t much to improve. I’d love to get back to running more soon. My knee is still healing, so I’ve been staying clear of the treadmill to allow my body to heal. My physical therapist told me I can start trying to introduce running into my routine while focusing on taking shorter strides to protect my knee, so I’m going to attempt running again tomorrow morning. Hopefully all goes well and I can get back to racing soon!

Well that’s all I have for today! I hope you all have a great start to your week!

Do you enjoy cardio or strength workouts more?

What was your favorite part of your weekend?

2 thoughts on “Weekend Recap & Weekly Workouts

  1. I love football season! I can’t wait for it to start back up again. That cupcake is just beautiful, almost to pretty to eat… almost 😉

    Like

Leave a Reply

