Weekend Adventures

Happy Monday everyone! How was your weekend? Mine was a solid mix of fun, adventure, and relaxation and I am SO sad to see it end so quickly (as it always does!). It’s always so weird to me how weekdays can drag on, but the weekend comes and goes in the blink of an eye. But such is life, so I’m gearing up this morning for another full week of work as I transition into a new job within my same company. I’m so excited to see all that this new position entails and I’ll definitely be very busy over the next few weeks learning all of my new responsibilities, so I’m glad this past weekend was a good one to gear me up for a new, busy week!

Now to recap the weekend:

Friday after work, Bart and I headed downtown to one of our favorite bars, Taphouse Grill, to watch the Seahawks preseason game and enjoy happy hour to kick off the weekend. This place has one of the best dragonberry mojitos I’ve ever had and Bart and I both had our fair share of drinks and appetizers while watching the game.

If you ever pass by a Taphouse Grill, be sure to drop in and try one of these if you like fruity drinks. I highly recommend!
If you ever pass by a Taphouse Grill, be sure to drop in and try one of these if you like fruity drinks. I highly recommend!

Afterwards, we headed over to a cute little restaurant downtown and split a plate of nachos while watching the end of the game. Unfortunately, the hawks lost again, so everyone was a little bummed out. Even though it’s preseason and it really doesn’t matter, it’s never fun to watch your team lose, so hopefully our first string players have it together and can bring home a big win to start out the regular season in a few weeks. The rest of Friday night included a fro-yo run that left us completely stuffed and a movie at my apartment. Pretty low-key, but just what I needed!

saturday rpm

Saturday called for a little more adventure. The morning started with my typical kick-butt RPM class and a quick little weights circuit, followed up with Smoothie Saturday of course 🙂 Bart and I took our breakfast to go after deciding to take a day trip to Deception Pass near Whidbey Island and hike around all day. We hadn’t been hiking in weeks and were ready to get out of the city for a little bit, so this seemed like the perfect opportunity!

hike

It took us about 2 hours to reach the campsite because of traffic, but it was totally worth it. The area was absolutely gorgeous and the hikes weren’t crazy tough, which was nice since both Bart and I had already got our workouts in for the day earlier. There were tons of different paths to take around the area and we found a few hidden beaches and caves throughout our journey.

hikk

Unfortunately, the massive fires going on in Eastern Washington have caused the entire state to be covered in a blanket of smoke, so our views throughout the hike weren’t as good as they could have been. Thoughts and prayers to all of those affected by the horrible fires right now.

hike1

We were still lucky enough to catch some gorgeous views of the sound and had a blast adventuring through the forest! I hadn’t heard about Deception Pass until my mom told me about it, but after coming here, I would definitely recommend it to anyone looking for a quick little getaway in Western Washington. It’s crazy to think all of this exists just a little ways out from the city. Gotta love the Pacific Northwest!

Leaving our mark on the path! Sappy girlfriend moment :)
Leaving our mark on the path! Sappy girlfriend moment 🙂

The rest of the night included homemade pizza, wine, and movies,the perfect way to top off our busy day. I’m definitely not your typical girl in her 20’s–I’m much more of a morning person and love curling up late at night and crashing before midnight, even on the weekends. I think its because I’ve spent so much of my life with morning practice commitments, so I’ve just trained myself to turn in early and wake up at the crack of dawn. Oh well, there are worse things than early nights 🙂

pancakes
Just your basic pancake mix with some blueberries thrown in and a little greek yogurt to top it off! And yes–I finished every single bite of this. No shame!

Sunday was just as relaxing and started off with a little Pancake Sunday. Yes, I have food-related names for each weekend day–and yes, it’s probably weird, but after you become accustomed to eating the same types of food every day, the names seem to make sense and catch on 🙂

The rest of the day included some grocery shopping to re-stock for the week, a little recipe experimenting (which will be shared later this week!), and a walk around the smokey neighborhood. Sunday’s are typically really chill days for me to prep for the week ahead, so this one went just as expected.

And that’s a wrap! Hope you all have a great day!

What did you do this past weekend?

Are you a morning person or a night person?

Leave a Reply

