Tuesday Morning Survey

Good Tuesday Morning readers! Hope your days are all off to a great start so far. As this post goes live, I’ll be sitting on a bike in my typical RPM class at 6AM getting ready to kick off a day jam-packed with meetings and networking in my office. I always feel a lot more awake if I can start my day with a good workout and I’ll definitely be needing the extra push today. Transitioning to a new job is tough and almost feels like you’re working two jobs at times, so I’m excited to fully transition next week to my new team. I can definitely tell good things are to come 🙂

In other news, my blog post today is meant to give you a little more insight into my life and some of my favorites in the fit foodie world. As a new blogger, I’m always looking for new ways to tell you a little more about myself and this survey is a great way to do it. Enjoy and feel free to answer some of your favorite questions in the comments section below!

1. What did you eat for breakfast?

Monday = A little cardio followed by a weight lifting circuit, so I was craving some protein as soon as I got home and knew I needed a little something to tie me over until I got to work to eat my real breakfast. Thus, a protein shake happened.

milk

Shortly followed by my favorite overnight oats containing 1/3 cup of oats, 1/3 cup of vanilla greek yogurt, 1/3 cup of almond milk, 1 spoonful of peanut butter, a sliced banana, and a handful of fresh blueberries. Plus coffee, because waking up at 5:30 requires a big mug of coffee in order to survive the day.

2. How much water do you drink a day?

waterbottle

I try my best to continually drink water throughout the day and keep a water bottle with me at all times at work. I typically fill this baby up 3 to 4 times a day and drink at least 1 water bottle while working out and 1 more at home. I can tell when I don’t drink enough water because I get really bad headaches by mid-afternoon.

3. What is your current favorite workout?

I’m starting to get really into weights circuits and still love my RPM classes. Pure Barre is also starting to make its way back into my life, which makes me very happy!

4. How many calories do you eat a day?

Oh my gosh I have absolutely no idea. Not a counter whatsoever!

5. What are your favorite healthy snacks?

I’m a huge snacker, so you’ll definitely be seeing quite a few snack recipes throughout the lifetime of this blog. Here are some of my favorites:

  •  An apple with peanut butter
  • Any type of banana bread
  • Trail Mix
  • Yogurt & granola

6. What do you usually eat for lunch?

This totally varies by week. Lately I’ve been obsessed with my new protein and grain bowls from costco, but I also mix it up with salads topped with rotisserie chicken & chicken salad sandwiches. I almost always have lunch at my desk while catching up on work, so I have to make sure my lunches are portable everyday.

7. What is your favorite body part to strength train?

My arms–definitely. I have way less upper body strength, so I love the feeling of soreness after working them hard in the morning.

8. What is your least favorite body part to strength train?

My legs. I’m a runner and typically do my cardio before I lift (which may or may not be the optimal time). Thus, by the time I hit the weights, my legs are usually tired and the thought of squats or lunges is never ever appealing. That being said, I love deadlifts and RDL’s, so I guess it just depends on my mood.

9. What are your “bad” food cravings?

I don’t like to classify any food as “bad”. Ever since recovering from my eating disorder, I’ve learned that sugary and greasy foods are just as important to complete physical and mental health as fruits and veggies. With that being said, the more indulgent foods that I love are ice cream, french fries and pizza. Plus anything sweet. I’m pretty much into all indulgences 🙂

10. Do you take vitamins or supplements?

Yep! I take calcium, iron, and a daily multivitamin every day.

11. How often do you eat out?

Not very often actually. Maybe once a week for dinner and occasionally I’ll go out to lunch with friends at work.

12. Do you eat fast food?

Hardly. I used to live off of this stuff in high school, but ever since I came to college, I typically splurge when eating out. I do make trips to Dairy Queen for ice cream every now and then, though 🙂 When I do eat out, it’s typically Dominos, Panda Express, or Jimmy Johns.

13. Who is your biggest supporter?

fam

fam1

My parents, little brother, grandparents and Bart 🙂

14. Do you have a gym membership?

Mhmm! I got one as soon as I moved into my new place. Bart gets a discount through his job and was able to get me a discount as well, which helps a lot because gym memberships are pretty expensive over here.

15. How many hours of sleep do you get a night?

During the week, I typically go to sleep around 10 or 10:30 and wake up at 5:30, so about 7 hours. On weekends, I get around 8 or 9.

16. Do you have a “cheat” day?

I don’t really do cheat days, otherwise every day would be a cheat because I absolutely love dessert. I’ve learned to balance my indulgences with healthy choices and have never been happier.

17. Do you drink alcohol?

Well of course! Mostly just on the weekends, but a glass of wine will appear in my life after a tough day at work during the week. I’m not a fan of beer, but love wine and mixed drinks.

18. Do you have a workout buddy?

I like to reserve my workouts as time set aside during my day just for myself. I love group fitness classes and have taken girlfriends to different classes with me, but ultimately I like doing my own thing. After years of training with people in the pool, it’s nice to have this new relationship with working out.

19. What is the best thing that has changed about your life since committing to a healthy lifestyle?

Before, I thought being healthy was wearing a size 0 and having “abs”. I truly believed my health was equivalent to my body size and the smaller I got, the more of a poster-child for fitness I was. This was definitely not the case, though.

11147890_10153762445218835_2809937600496303620_n

Since recovering from my eating disorder, I have probably put on about 10-15 lbs, gotten my period regularly, slept in on mornings I didn’t feel like working out, and ate whatever I wanted. I have stopped restricting myself or labeling certain foods as “bad”. I have re-prioritized my life and brought my relationships with others and my relationship with God to the forefront. And through all this, I have never been happier or more comfortable in my own skin. So quite honestly, there isn’t one certain thing that makes my new, healthy lifestyle better than life had been in the past. My entire life has changed for the better, so I’ve made it my goal through this blog to try to pass on this same happiness to others who may be struggling where I once was.

20. What was the last healthy thing you did?

Went for a walk on my lunch break and ate a cookie. It’s all about balance, right? 🙂

Well that’s all I have for you today! I hope you all have a wonderful day and come back tomorrow for some pictures of food and a new recipe (because who doesn’t like food?).

What were your favorite questions to answer from the survey?

Do you have any important milestones at work coming up?

2 thoughts on “Tuesday Morning Survey

  1. I love your attitude and personality! I’m also a big snacker and like having about 6 small meals/snacks a day.I recently started a strength training routine with my boyfriend and I am super excited to build some muscles! While I do love, love, love running, I am excited to do some workout off the treadmill.

    Like

Leave a Reply

