Friday Favorites #3: Barre with Boys & Other Fun Things

Hey hey hey! Happy Friday everyone! Sorry I missed you yesterday. Things were pretty crazy at work, so I was up on calls until much later than expected and didn’t have time to finish my post. But I’m back in full force today and ready to share some Friday Favorites with all of you! 🙂

Life In Leggings

As usual, I’m linking up with other bloggers from around the globe to highlight some of my favorite things from this past week. Today I’m bringing you a pretty solid mix of goodies to share, so hopefully you find at least one thing that tickles your fancy!

barre

Pure Barre: Bring on the Men: Yes, the day FINALLY arrived where I was able to drag Bart into a Pure Barre class with me to finally learn all about the intense tucking I tell him about after every class. My studio offered a class last night specifically for girls to bring their boyfriends or husbands in to try out the workout without having to take a class filled only with girls. Let me tell you, it was probably one of the best classes I have ever taken. It was hilarious to watch all of the guys try to tuck and hold poses during seat work and Bart FINALLY admitted it was actually a really tough workout. I hadn’t been to a class in quite a while, so I was definitely feeling it right from the get go.

If you haven’t take a barre class, I highly recommend trying it at least once. It makes you work muscles you didn’t even know you had and it’s all done in such a confidence-building environment. I’m hoping to start going at least once a week again as it’s a great complimentary workout for runners.

shoes

New Nike Running Shoes: I finally have started running again without any knee pain! After almost a month of physical therapy, I went on my first 4 mile run Wednesday completely pain free and finally got to break in my new running shoes. I bought them before my knee injury as I began to train for a half marathon (which I sadly had to pull out of after getting injured) and hadn’t been able to really run in them yet. I absolutely loved how easy they made my run feel and I’m hoping they’ll help me get a PR in my next half marathon, whenever that may be. Plus the colors are right up my alley!

This Youtube Video: Bart found this video online a few days ago and I thought it was pretty awesome, so I had to share with you guys. It really makes you think how naive we actually are. Even when we think we have life all figured out, there is still so much to learn. The last man sums it up perfectly: in life, no one really knows what the hell they’re doing. Its a feel good video that’s definitely worth the watch.

hike
Bart doesn’t look enthused, but I promise he really did have a good time 🙂

Hiking Getaways: I hadn’t been hiking in quite a while before this past weekend and had forgotten how much fun it can be to get away from the city for a day. Our trip to Deception Pass last Saturday was a total blast and we’re already talking about going back again on a day where there is less smoke.

peach

Peach-D Lunches: Okay, for any of you in the Seattle area, you have to try ordering lunch from peachd.com. It’s definitely one of my new favorite things. The company allows you to order one of a selected three meals (one with meat, one without meat, and one “lighter” option) from a local restaurant and delivers it straight to your building for under $10 a meal on average. If you sign up, each morning the company will send you a text of the items offered that day and all you have to do is reply “yes” and your order will be placed. Once your food arrives (typically a little after 12PM at my office), the company sends you another text to let you know you can go grab your food. Such a handy tool to have when your day is a crazy mess like mine has been lately!

And that’s a wrap! Tonight after work, I’ll be opening a bottle of wine and decompressing from the craziness of this past week, so nothing too wild is planned. The rest of the weekend will probably be filled with catching up with old college friends, visiting Bart’s family, and going out to eat at least once (we’ll see if I feel like cooking at all tonight 😉 ). Thanks for dropping by and I hope you all have a wonderful weekend! 🙂

What’s on your agenda this weekend?

Have you ever taken a Barre class?

Leave a Reply

