WIAW: Day in the Life + Flatbread Recipe

Hey hey hey everyone! Sorry I’ve missed you the past few days. I’m finally checking back in after an unexpectedly rough weekend and first official day in my new role at work. To give you all a little bit of a recap, I woke up on Saturday with an excruciating pain on the roof of my mouth, which turned out to be a growing infection that had to be scraped out in order to keep it from spreading. I’ll spare you all the gory details, but it was extremely painful and I ended up laying around for majority of the weekend as I tried to recover. Thankfully, I’ve been feeling much better since yesterday and have been able to eat normally without any pain.

Because yesterday was the only day I’ve eaten like my normal self and today is a What-I-Ate-Wednesday kind of day, I’m bringing you my daily eats in a day-in-the-life type post. My new job has my busy 95% of the work day, so munching is almost always done in meetings or at my desk. I’m realizing those midday walks may be harder to fit in while I’m in this role, so I’ll just have to find a way to get the extra steps in other ways. Helloooo taking the stairs everywhere 🙂 Nonetheless, here is a recap of my second day in a new role and first day eating like a normal person!

5:23AM: Alarm goes off. It’s cold and rainy out this morning so getting up is a struggle, but I manage to get up.

5:28AM: Out the door to the gym.

5:48AM: Arrive. Stretch and hit the treadmill for a quick 7 minute warmup to get my legs moving before RPM.

6AM: RPM time! The workout this morning had an extra hill track, so my legs were screaming by the end.

6:50AM: Quick 10-minute core workout and then I’m out the door.

7:15AM: Back at home. Get ready for the day and throw together breakfast, which was a smoothie filled with vanilla greek yogurt, frozen pineapple/mango, banana, peanut butter and some almond milk.

smoothietues

7:55AM: Sip down this bad boy on my way to the office.

8:10AM: Check emails and run to 8:30 meeting to start the day.

8:30-11AM: Meetings, meetings, meetings! Part of the fun of moving into a new role in a big company is learning new processes that make the business tick. It’s been an incredible past few days, but I always come home completely exhausted from the overload of information coming at me. Give it a few more weeks and I’ll be back in the swing of things!

11AM: Do a little work at my desk for a presentation to leadership taking place tomorrow morning.

lunchtues

12:15PM: Lunch time! Today included a salad with chopped brussel sprouts, kale, dried cranberries, pumpkin seeds and chicken topped with poppyseed dressing with an apple and some sesame crackers on the side.

1-2PM: More desk work.

2-3PM: Meet with my new boss to discuss my year end goals and the new projects I will be leading. I’m stoked about the different things I will be part of over the course of the next few months.

peas

3:15PM: Hungry. Grab a handful or two of these bad boys to tie me over.

3:30-4:45PM: More meetings. Business as usual.

4:50PM: Bart picks me up and we head back to my apartment. Traffic is terrible today because school is back in session. Just one more sign that summer is definitely over.

bananapb

5:20PM: Snacky again and not ready to make dinner, so I grab a banana and the peanut butter jar and plant myself on the couch to start writing this post while watching a little TV. Bart and I have started getting into the show Shark Tank, so we always throw that on after work.

6:30PM: Start making dinner. On the menu tonight was spicy chicken flatbread with cooked brussel sprouts. For all of you salsa fans out there, this recipe is pretty awesome!

dindin

Ingredients:

  • 3-4 Flatbreads
  • 1 Red Pepper, chopped
  • 1/2 Yellow Onion, sliced
  • 4-5 mushrooms, sliced
  • 1/2 cup salsa
  • About 1/2 cup of shredded mexican cheese
  • 1 chicken breast
  • 3 TSP Crushed Garlic
  • Olive Oil
  • Salt and Pepper to taste
  • 3-4 TBS chopped Cilantro

Instructions:

  1. Preheat your oven to 400 and spray a large baking sheet with non-stick spray.
  2. After you’ve chopped up your veggies, sauté them in olive oil over medium-high heat until browned. Add the salsa and mix together. Move your veggies to a bowl and cover with a napkin to keep warm.
  3. Place your flatbreads in the oven directly on the rack to start cooking. While in the oven, cut your chicken into bite size pieces and cook on the stovetop with olive oil, crushed garlic, and a little salt and pepper.
  4. Remove your flatbreads from the oven after 5 minutes. Top them with the veggie mixture, then the chicken pieces and top it off with shredded cheese. Place on the baking sheet and bake for 5 minutes until cheese is melted.
  5. Remove from oven and top with Cilantro. Eat up! 🙂

7:05PM: Enjoy dinner and catch up with Bart on how his day was.

7:30PM: Pull out my laptop and catch up on a few emails I didn’t get to during the day. Decide I’m going to stop working at 8 because I’m serious exhausted and it’s only Tuesday.

8PM: Watch TV with Bart and grab a little sweet treat to wrap up my day about half an hour in. Yogurt bars have been making an appearance in my life at least 3 times a week and today wasn’t an exception to the trend.

10PM: Bart heads home and I get ready for the next morning before heading to bed, including finishing up this post.

10:20PM: Crash! Gotta get ready for another full day 🙂

And that’s a wrap! Today is sure to be another crazy, work-filled day, but at least we’ve reached the halfway point in our week. Hope you all have a wonderful Wednesday!

What were the highlights from your day yesterday?

Any good recipes to share?

6 thoughts on “WIAW: Day in the Life + Flatbread Recipe

    • Those are some of my favorite, too! I’ve been buying these healthy living strawberries and cream yogurt bars that are so awesome! If you ever come across any, you should definitely give them a try 🙂

      Like

  1. I’m glad to hear you’re feeling better, mouth pain is seriously the worst! I had a good shoulder workout yesterday and my bf showed me some new exercises. I really want to try some new recipes, but with the heat haven’t really been too creative in the kitchen. However I do plan on trying some new things in the kitchen soon.. I was thinking of doing a post on a “recipe bucket list” to keep me accountable!

    Like

    • Your workout sounds like fun! You should share some of the new exercises he showed you because I’m definitely interested in revamping my lifting workouts. And I love the idea of a recipe bucket list! You should definitely make one. I just may have to do a post on that for myself later on 🙂

      Like

Leave a Reply

