WIAW: Labor Day is meant for munching

Happy Wednesday readers! Anybody else enjoying the fact that we’re already at the halfway point in our week? I definitely am, even though I have tons to accomplish before I can enjoy another weekend.

Today in typical Wednesday fashion, I’m bringing you a day full of food in pictures. This post recaps all of my eats from Monday, which was a welcomed lazy day off from work. I ended up getting my first good run in (over 6 miles in less than 50 minutes!) and lifted a little afterwards, but spent the majority of my day in yoga pants and a sweatshirt lounging around my apartment. After my busy weekend, it was just what I needed to get ready for the week ahead.

Breakfast:

Because it’s absolutely impossible for me to sleep in past 8AM anymore, I was up and at ’em around 7:45 and decided to head into the gym early to get my workout in before kicking it the rest of the day. After I got home, I was craving a big ol’ smoothie, so I busted out my blender and threw in some frozen strawberries and mangos, a chopped banana, 1/2 cup of vanilla greek yogurt, a big spoonful of peanut butter and about a cup of vanilla almond milk. Unfortunately, I didn’t decide to recap my eats for the day until after the smoothie was gone, so I didn’t get a picture of it this time.

Lunch: 

lunch1

When I run, I tend to need something to eat every 2 to 3 hours, so lunch came pretty quickly after I finished off my smoothie and typical big cup of coffee. When I’m able to cook at home, my go-to lunch is a cheese quesadilla with chopped mushrooms and peppers made crunchy on the stovetop, so it made an appearance in my life on Monday. I paired it with an apple and a little cup of salsa for dipping and was 100% satisfied.

Snacks: 

snacks

Because Bart and I spent a lot of the afternoon painting downtown, we didn’t get the chance to snack much throughout the day. We got home a little before we were planning on making dinner, so I munched on a bunch of veggie chips to tie me over until dinner. These babies are delicious, so if you’re ever at Costco, they’re definitely worth a try!

Dinner: 

dinner1

This meal is one of my favorites and definitely a recipe I’m planning on sharing with you all within the next week or two. We threw together some baked honey garlic chicken and paired it with some basmati rice from Trader Joe’s and brussel sprouts. Absolutely delicious!

Dessert: 

cake

When you buy an entire cheesecake from Costco with your boyfriend, chances are you’re going to have it multiple days in a row; at least if you have a sweet tooth as big as mine. That’s most definitely the case in my house as this big piece of cheesecake was gobbled up at the end of the night. I can’t get over how yummy it is, so chances are I’ll probably be capping off my night with slices of this beauty a lot this week. No shame whatsoever 🙂

And that’s a wrap! Hopefully you found at least one thing that looked appetizing. Have a wonderful day 🙂

Do you have a sweet tooth?

What was your favorite thing you ate yesterday?

Leave a Reply

