Tempo Tuesday: My favorite Cardio Circuit

Hey hey! How’s your Tuesday going so far? Mine is off to a fabulous start with my typical kick-butt RPM class right off the bat. As you can probably tell if you know me or have been following my blog for a while, cardio is my favorite form of workout–most likely because I spent so many years as a swimmer. I love the feeling of getting my heart pumping early in the morning and it definitely helps me kick-start a productive day. Even on weekends when I have no obligations, I tend to wake up before 8 and jet off to the gym or go on a run before I even grab my morning cup of joe.

running

So today in honor of Tempo Tuesday hosted by the fabulous Sweat Pink Ambassadors, I’m bringing you all my absolute favorite cardio circuit to do either at the gym or right at home. One of the biggest advantages of choosing to do a cardio workout rather than a weighted circuit is the ability to do it anywhere at any time. That makes it extremely handy to get a quick little sweat in even if you may be away from home. While I’m a firm believer that taking breaks from working out while on vacation is extremely necessary, sometimes it’s nice to get your blood pumping if you’re on an extended vacation or a work trip. In those moments, cardio circuits like this one are absolutely perfect.

workout (1)

This workout takes about an hour and 15 minutes, but can easily be modified depending on how much time you  have on your hands. When I’m not at the gym, I swap out the bicep curls for tricep dips, which can be done on the edge of any chair or couch easily. I typically take about a 30 to 60 second break in between circuit sets and 5 minute runs, but you can take more if needed and cut out one of the runs or the core circuit at the very end to keep the workout from lasting longer.  You can also adjust how long you run at the beginning to keep the workout under an hour. Trust me, even if you just do the circuit workouts with breaks in between, you’ll be able to get your heart up and pumping in no time!

On another note, today I’m giving a special shout-out to my mama who is celebrating a birthday today. This amazing lady is one of my biggest inspirations and is one of the reasons I got so hooked on running in the first place. I definitely wouldn’t be the person I am today without her constant love and guidance and am so lucky to have her as a mom and best friend. Happy birthday mom!

mom

And with that I’ll let you all get back to your Tuesday. Have a wonderful day!

What’s your favorite type of workout?

Any fitness goals set for the remainder of the year?

2 thoughts on “Tempo Tuesday: My favorite Cardio Circuit

Leave a Reply

