WIAW: Last bit of Summer

Happy Wednesday! Anybody else think this week is flying by? I’m not sure if it’s because of my heavy work load or the fact that it’s finally fall in Seattle and not nearly as nice outside, but I can’t believe we’re already at the halfway point in the week! Not that I’m complaining or anything ๐Ÿ™‚

Today in typical Wednesday fashionย I’m bringing you lovely people a look at all of the food I ate yesterday as part of WIAW hosted by Jenn from Peas and Crayons: a Tuesday filled with RPM, work, and a little relaxation. Like I’ve mentioned numerous times before, these posts aren’t meant to serve as comparisons for your own life. Every person’s body needs different things and I am a strong advocate of listening to your body whenever it’s calling you to munch on something. Nonetheless, I love giving you all a peak into my different eats throughout the day to show off some yummy recipes and tasty treats that may fit into your own lives. Hopefully you find a thing or two that looks good enough to try yourself!

smoothie

Breakfast: Nothing special. Tuesday RPM = big smoothie to boot. Today’s creation featured some frozen strawberries and mangos, a banana, some vanilla greek yogurt, a big spoonful of peanut butter and about a cup of almond milk. This baby was HUGE today (probably because I went a little crazy grabbing frozen strawberries), so I was pretty satisfied all morning.

lunchhh

Lunch: I made another discovery at Costco two weekends ago and it’s instantly become my new favorite. You can’t tell from the picture, but this yummy sandwich contains 1 small container of cranberry almond chicken salad and is absolutely delicious! It’s made with greek yogurt instead of mayo, so the extra boost of protein keeps me a lot fuller throughout the afternoon. I typically stray away from subbing out mayo in chicken salads, but you can hardly taste the difference with this one. I also had a big pink lady apple on the side. Gotta balance out the flavors ๐Ÿ™‚

snack1

Snack #1: Okay, so I know these look really weird, but they’re actually a pretty yummy snack. These are tomato-basil flavored dried lentil beans and if you like anything tomato-basil flavored, they’re definitely worth your time. The same company that makes the dried snap peas I’ve featured before just came out with this new flavor of product, so when I saw the bag at Costco, I knew I had to give it a go. I’m not sure if I like them more than the originals, but they definitely aren’t bad!

cereal

Snack #2: Very shortly after I polished off my little bag of lentils, I decided I was still hungry and went for a mug full of my favorite Trader Joe’s cereal and almond milk. I’ve always been a huge cereal fan, but it doesn’t seem to keep me full throughout the morning if I eat it for breakfast. Lately, it has become one of my go-to snacks and these Strawberry Yogurt-O’s are by far my favorite.

dinner

Dinner: As summer comes to a close, Bart and I are trying to get in our final BBQ’d dinners before it’s too cold and wet to cook outside. Tonight was one of our favorites: Grilled Mahi Mahi Burgers with corn on the cob and baked sweet potato fries. Delicious.

yogo

Dessert: After finishing off a cheesecake last week, I’m back on my frozen yogurt bar kick–just a tad less sugar to end the day ๐Ÿ™‚ These bars remind me of strawberries and cream ice cream and since ice cream is my absolute favorite food, these yogurt bars are a healthier way to cap off the night without sacrificing the yummy ice cream flavor.

And that’ll do it for me today! Have a wonderful Wednesday! ๐Ÿ™‚

What’s your favorite snack?

Do you have any yummy recipes to share?

7 thoughts on “WIAW: Last bit of Summer

  1. Love, love cranberry and almonds in chicken salad! I wish I had a costco locally! I love cereal too, but feel the same way about it filling me up. I have never thought to have it for a snack! I need that cereal for TJoes!

    Like

Leave a Reply

