Friday Favorites: Barre & Baking

Happy Friday everyone! Congratulations on making it through another full week. Hopefully you have a fun or relaxing weekend ahead of you just like I do. Tomorrow, Bart and I are heading over to Eastern Washington to attend the wedding of one of our good college friends. I can’t wait to catch up with everyone again and help her celebrate such a beautiful moment in her life. Because we have to leave fairly early, tonight will more than likely contain a glass of wine or two and a lot of relaxation after the long work week. Not complaining one bit 🙂

But before I get to all of that, today I’m closing out the week with my typical list of Friday Favorites. I have a pretty solid mix of favorites to report this week, so hopefully you find a thing or two that tickles your fancy!

barrePost-barre sweaty selfie!

Back to the Barre: After taking a barre class with Bart a few weeks ago, I decided I really needed to get back into the swing of things and start taking a class at least once a week. Not only is it really good for me to strengthen the little muscles in my legs and core as I start to pick up my running mileage, but it’s such a fun environment to workout in and balances out my weekly workout regimen. This past Wednesday, I made my way to the barre and totally got my butt kicked. For those of you who have taken a barre class, you understand how hard it can be to come back after weeks (or months) without taking a class. For those of you who haven’t, take a class and you’ll understand in a matter of minutes 🙂

carrotjuice

Trader Joe’s Carrot Juice: When I was younger, I used to HATE any type of veggie juice. If I was going to drink juice, I wanted it to be sweet, so I typically went with orange or pineapple and never really switched things up as I grew older. This past Sunday though, Bart finally convinced me to try Trader Joe’s carrot juice after promising me I would love it and I have to admit, he was totally right. This juice had just the right amount of sweetness for me and just may become a regular weekly purchase. And the best part? The only ingredient listed is juice from carrots! Healthy nutrition at it’s finest!

arctic zero

Arctic Zero Ice Cream: Like I’ve mentioned before, ice cream is by far my favorite food. For a while, I ate a big bowl of it every single night and just couldn’t find the same satisfaction from any other dessert. Lately I’ve been really into looking for healthier options to satisfy my ice cream craving, so I can at least mix it up a few times a week and I think I may have found another great, healthy alternative. This Arctic Zero dessert is gluten/dairy free and made up of whey protein, so you get an extra protein boost when reaching for a sweet treat! My favorite flavor so far is Vanilla Maple, but I’m excited to try out the Chocolate Peanut Butter flavor next (PB = Love).

show

Impractical Jokers: At the end of a long day, Bart and I are almost always in the mood for no-brainer TV and recently, we’ve found a hilarious show that is just that! Impractical Jokers is a show about 4 lifelong friends who challenge each other to a bunch of hilarious stunts around New York City. At the end of the show, the loser has to do something completely humiliating as chosen by the other 3 winners. If you’re looking for a good laugh, check it out on TruTV!

You better believe I had a nibble or two on this dough before baking it up. These are my favorite cookies, so definitely stay tuned for the full recipe soon!
You better believe I had a nibble or two on this dough before baking it up. These are my favorite cookies, so definitely stay tuned for the full recipe soon!

Back to Baking: I adore baking, but because of my new job, I haven’t been able to find the time to devote to it. Thankfully, Bart needed to bring treats to a team meeting at work today, so it gave me just the right excuse to bake up a storm Thursday night after work. These lemon blueberry cookies are my specialty and they turned out absolutely delicious once again this week. Be on the lookout for the full recipe soon! 🙂

huskyfootball

Husky Football season: As I’ve mentioned for the past few weeks, my favorite sport and my favorite team are in full force as we get into the fall season! The Huskies are 1-1 so far, so hopefully we can get another big win this weekend against Utah State. I love living in Seattle because I’m surrounded by other dawg fans like myself and it’s tons of fun to watch games at sports bars or restaurants filled with other Huskies.

And with that, I’ll leave you all to your weekend! Special thanks to Katie and Heather for the linkup. Have a fabulous one 🙂

What are your plans for the weekend?

2 thoughts on “Friday Favorites: Barre & Baking

Leave a Reply

