Nutritional Myths & a Weekend Recap

Happy Monday everyone! This weekend absolutely flew by and although I’m sad it’s come to a close already, I’m definitely ready to get back into the work week and get some things crossed off of my to-do list before another fun-filled weekend coming up. Before I dive in to my topic of the day, I feel like a quick recap of my weekend is in order (since that seems to be my norm on this blog and I don’t feel like breaking my short-running traditions quite yet!).

fridinnsillyfroyo

As I mentioned last week, Friday night proved to be just the quiet evening I had been looking for. Bart and I ended up getting creative in the kitchen and made the best baked fish and chips with sweet potatoes fries and sautéed zucchini on the side–definitely a recipe worth sharing in the future. After cleaning our plates, we headed out for our typical Friday Fro-yo and came back to watch “This is Where I Leave You”. Not our favorite movie, but it wasn’t too bad to wrap up the night.

weddingselfi

Saturday started with a trip to the gym and then Bart and I were off to Eastern Washington to attend another wedding for one of my good friends from college. This wedding happened to be at the exact same venue as the other wedding we attended this summer, but was absolutely gorgeous in it’s own way! We had a blast dancing the night away, catching up with some of our best friends, and having a drink (or a few 🙂 ). After deciding driving home wasn’t the brightest idea, we ended up spending the night with one of our friends and letting the party continue into the wee hours of the morning.

Blueberry pancakes did the trick for me and Bart had a little mix of flavors in his big breakfast of eggs, potatoes, ham, and pancakes. Just what we needed!
Blueberry pancakes did the trick for me and Bart had a little mix of flavors in his big breakfast of eggs, potatoes, ham, and pancakes. Just what we needed!

Needless to say, Sunday morning was a little rough, but totally worth every second of headache we all felt throughout the day. Bart and I ended up stopping for a big breakfast on our way back home and spent the rest of the day relaxing, prepping things for the work week, and watching our Seahawks!

Nutritional Myths

Now on to the true topic of the day! For today’s post, I really wanted to focus on something a little more serious than just my typical weekend recap. In our society, we often hear a lot of information surrounding our metabolisms and good nutrition habits, so it’s very easy to fall victim to believing things that aren’t true whatsoever. I know in my own life, I believed a lot of nutritional rules that weren’t completely accurate before deciding to do my homework to really understand what healthy living looks like. It took me quite some time to find all of the right answers, so today I’m doing the work for you and bringing you a post to cover some of the top nutritional beliefs and help you discover what actually helps you get to that healthy point you may be striving for.

#1: Eating past 7PM will make you gain weight

I remember when I first heard this rule of thumb and seriously considered trying to cut out my nightly snacks to see how much better I felt. So many people refer to nighttime munching as a bad thing and I know a number of people who have tried to stop eating after 7PM as a form of diet, but I’m here to tell you that this is completely false. Calories are calories no matter what time of day they’re eaten. If you’re hungry at night, your body is telling you it needs something else to fuel it before you hit the hay and it may be a sign that you didn’t eat enough throughout the day. This eating habit may be helpful for some people if it keeps them from constantly overindulging at the end of the day on unhealthy foods, but overall, there is nothing scientific that proves eating that midnight snack will make you gain weight any faster than reaching for that same treat at 3PM.

#2: Your metabolism slows as you age

There are many different sources that claim at a certain age, your metabolism starts to slow down and you don’t need to eat as many calories to maintain your weight. While this is often true for adults, it isn’t tied to your metabolism slowing at all. Thermogenesis, which is the calorie-burning part of your metabolism, actually is proven to stay pretty steady throughout your entire life. The reason adults tend to need fewer calories than a teenager is due to their drop in muscle mass. Adults tend to be less active than younger people, so they lose muscle mass and gain more fat, which decreases the amount of calories their bodies’ burn. Just one more reason why lifting weights is SO important for everyone to continue to do!

#3: A low-carb diet is a great way to lose weight

Wrong again. This is probably one of the most widespread lies in the nutritional world. Low-carb diets claim that carbs promote insulin production in the body, which causes you to gain more weight. In contrast though, the only reason low-carb diets seem successful is because they encourage people to decrease the number of calories they consume, which will lead to weight-loss no matter what type of food your straying away from. Additionally, the initial weight loss seen in low-carb diets is only due to loss of water weight, which occurs when the body starts burning stored carbs for energy. Thus, you aren’t actually losing weight upfront. If you’re just mindful of what you’re eating and do things in moderation, you can still enjoy that slice of cake you know that you love and be completely healthy. 🙂

#4: Skipping meals can help you lose weight

Once again, not true. I know of so many people who choose to skip breakfast and eat a smaller lunch in attempts of losing weight and only find themselves gorging on less healthy foods at night. When we don’t eat, our metabolism slows down to compensate for the lack of food. As we reach the end of the day and finally have a solid meal, we tend to eat more than we would have if we followed a balanced diet and because our metabolism has slowed down, it’s tougher to burn calories. Additionally, many people who skip meals tend to reach for more unhealthy foods at the end of the day to achieve that spike in energy that they hadn’t received from eating earlier. So even if you aren’t very hungry at the start of the day, it’s important to eat a little something to get your body going (Bananas and peanut butter or PB toast are great choices).

#5: Fats are bad

When I first met with a nutritionist while in recovery, this was one of the very first things she wanted to make sure she cleared up for me. Fats have such a bad rap in society and we tend to stray away from them. I’m here to tell you this is not the way to go. Your brain, nervous system, hormones and the cell walls of your body are all made from healthy fats, so if you deprive your body of these important nutrients, it won’t be able to function at it’s optimal level. Fats help give us that satisfied feeling at the end of a meal and can help us stay fuller longer. While there is definitely a difference between healthy and unhealthy fats and the latter should be consumed in moderation, these are pivotal to our health and need to be included in our diets if we want to help our bodies keep going throughout the day.

And with that, I’ll let you all get back to your Monday! Eat something yummy today 🙂

What did you do this weekend?

Are there any nutritional “rules” you follow?

2 thoughts on “Nutritional Myths & a Weekend Recap

  1. Great post! I hate the don’t eat past 7 and the fats make you fat myths. I legit cringe whenever I hear someone say that. I always try and jump in to correct them, sometimes I enlighten them, sometimes they are stuck in their way…oh well, all you can do is try I guess!

    Like

Leave a Reply

