Tasty Tuesday: Baked Fish and Chips

Good Morning folks! Sorry for joining you a little later than normal. Last night I wasn’t feeling very well, so I decided to lay in bed and watch TV to end the night rather than writing up this post. Luckily, I’m working from home this morning so I have a little bit of time between meetings to throw this post together.

Today I’m bringing you my new, yummy baked fish and chips recipe that I talked about in yesterday’s post. Typically, I’m not one to try to healthify recipes that are so good when deep fried, especially in the case of fish and chips which happens to be one of my favorite meals. Last Friday, I wasn’t feeling very well though and decided to attempt to bake up our dinner to save myself from any more stomach pain. Luckily, it turned out almost as yummy as the fried fish itself! (Key word– almost. You just can’t be fried fish and chips!) I cheated and bought frozen sweet potato fries from Trader Joes, so I won’t be including any “chips” recipe right now. They’re fries are just so darn good and I had a craving for them, so we went with it and just made the fish. 🙂

This recipe was fairly easy to throw together and it satisfied my fish and chips craving without the added grease. Enjoy!

Baked Fish and Chips

fridinn

Ingredients:

  • Around 1lb. of fresh cod
  • 3/4 cup flour
  • 2 teaspoons salt
  • 1 teaspoon pepper
  • 1 teaspoon cayenne pepper
  • 2 eggs, lightly beaten
  • 1.5 cups panko breadcrumbs

Direction:

1. Preheat your oven to 425 and spray a baking sheet with non-stick spray. Set up your work station by combining the flour, salt, pepper, and cayenne pepper in one bowl, the beaten eggs in a second, and the panko breadcrumbs in a third.

2. Slice the cod into strips or squares depending how you like your fish and chips.

3. Dip the cod strips into the flour mix, then the egg, and then the panko breadcrumbs. Lightly press the breadcrumbs into the cod to make sure you get that extra crunch.

4. Place strips on your baking sheet and bake in the oven for around 12 minutes, until the edge of the fish is slightly browned. Take out and enjoy!

And with that I’ll leave you to the rest of your Tuesday. Enjoy your final day of the summer season! 🙂

Leave a Reply

