WIAW: First Day of Fall

Hey hey hey readers! Happy first official day of the fall season. I’m typically a summer girl, but after this year’s crazy heat wave, I’m more than ready to embrace the cooler temperatures and the fall season. Growing up, I never really enjoyed fall because it meant heading back to school and having to get up earlier again. Now that I’m an adult and work majority of the summer, things have definitely changed. I’m a big fan of all things pumpkin and love wearing big cozy sweaters with boots. Not to mention the Pacific Northwest is GORGEOUS when the leaves start to change colors. Needless to say, I’m so happy to be ringing in the new season today and have a post ready for you guys that’s pretty reflective of that.

Today’s What I Ate Wednesday just so happens to feature a number of different fall-inspired treats that made their way into my life a little before the official change in season. This post is reflective of my day yesterday, a Tuesday filled with RPM, working from home in the morning, and a pretty busy afternoon in the office. Enjoy! 🙂

Breakfast:

oats

My office is currently being remodeled, so for the next 2 weeks I’m mixing up working from home and heading into the office depending on my meeting schedule. I had a few meetings slotted for Tuesday morning, but they ended up getting moved at the last minute and I ended up working from my couch rather than heading into the office to work from the cafe. Nonetheless, I had prepped my typical overnight oats the night before and gladly tapped into them immediately after getting home from RPM. These babies included the typical 1/3 cup of oats, 1/3 cup vanilla greek yogurt, 1/3 cup almond milk, big spoonful of peanut butter and a sliced banana + a handful of raspberries. All served with a big mug of Pumpkin Spice coffee on the side. Delicious!

Snack #1: 

yogurt

I ended up having a meeting pop up on my calendar at 11:30, so I knew I needed to munch on something before heading out to keep from getting hungry. This cherry greek yogurt did just the trick. I love eating yogurts in the morning as a snack because the extra protein keeps me full and gives me an extra boost to get through my day.

Lunch:

lunch

Because I was at home this morning, I was able to cook up something for lunch before going into my office. Today’s meal contained some brown rice with veggies sautéed in olive oil, chicken pieces, and topped with balsamic vinegar. Absolutely hit the spot! I love thai food, so rice bowls always seem to call to me. I enjoyed this with a nice, juicy Pink Lady apple on the side and was pretty darn full afterwards.

Afternoon snack #1: 

bread

In the spirit of the fall season, I baked up some pumpkin bread this past weekend and it turned out pretty bomb. I enjoyed this little guy topped with cream cheese around 4PM to give me a little boost to get through my final hour of work. Recipe will be shared soon!

Afternoon snack #2: 

snack

As soon as I got home, I realized I was still a little munchy and probably wasn’t going to start cooking dinner for a while, so I grabbed a bowl of these baked Lentil snaps to tie me over. I was feeling pretty full afterwards, so mission accomplished lentil snaps!

Dinner: 

din

Dinner tonight was a completely new meal Bart and I decided to try. We made gnocchi for the first time ever (totally cheated and bought it frozen at Trader Joe’s after taste testing it in the store last week) and added mushroom, onion, frozen veggies and chicken sausage to spice up the dish. I’d never had gnocchi before and for those of you who’ve never heard of it, it’s small potato pockets cooked up in a cheesy sauce, which turned out to be pretty awesome. This will likely become a fall staple meal as it was pretty easy to whip up.

Dessert: 

dess

What’s life without a little something sweet? Tonight, that sweetness came in the form of new vanilla raspberry bars from Trader Joe’s. These guys are pretty small, but pack a bunch of flavor and capped off my day of eats perfectly.

That’s all I’ve got planned for today. Have a great Wednesday! 🙂

8 thoughts on “WIAW: First Day of Fall

  1. Love your blog like the pink background! Also your eats look totally delicious, I have been digging the same dinner for a week or so, chicken veggies pb and crackers, I get the strange food combos!

    Like

Leave a Reply

