What I Ate Thursday: Then vs. Now

Hey everyone! Sorry I missed you all yesterday. Things got busy at work Tuesday afternoon once again, so I ended up staying later than expected and hit the gym after work rather than before, which meant the post I had planned didn’t end up happening. No worries though, because I’m here today to bring that same post to you a day later, which means my What I Ate Wednesday post has turned into What I Ate Thursday. Same food brought to you on a different day 🙂

For today’s food-related fun, I wanted to reflect on just how far I’ve managed to come since the dark days of my eating disorder. This post will show what I typically ate two years ago vs. what I ate this past Tuesday. During my recovery, these were the types of posts I loved reading because it gave me some sort of an idea how much I should be eating based on my activity level. While you definitely shouldn’t compare what you eat to my daily recap, hopefully this will give those of you dealing with similar problems some hope that true food peace can be achieved! I’ve also included what workouts I did in both instances, so you can truly see just how much I’ve improved since recovery. Enjoy!

2013– As part of collegiate swimming, I trained for an hour and a half in the mornings and came back for another 2 hour swim in the afternoon.

Now–On this particular Tuesday, I didn’t go to the gym until after work, where I ran for about 10 minutes to warm up my legs and then took a 45 minute spinning class.

Breakfast: 

2013– A grande Americano with a Luna Bar.

smoothie

Now– A big smoothie filled with over 1 cup of frozen pineapple and strawberries, 1 banana, 1/3 cup of vanilla greek yogurt, a big spoonful of peanut butter and a little over a cup of cashew milk plus a big mug of vanilla-flavored coffee on the side.

Lunch: 

2013– An apple with peanut butter, a cup of cheerios and another Luna Bar.

Now–A wrap filled with hummus, edamame, peppers, onions, and spinach paired with an apple. (Still love apples!)

Snack: 

2013–None

yogurt

Now– 2 snacks throughout my afternoon! I munched on some mixed nuts while sitting at my desk and then ate a 2% strawberry-banana yogurt on my way to the gym to get an extra boost of protein to fuel my workout. Before recovery, I NEVER snacked throughout the day and would never have eaten any yogurt that wasn’t nonfat. Such a shame considering full fat yogurt is SO much more enjoyable than the fake, nonfat stuff 🙂

Dinner: 

2013–A cheese quesadilla and a pear

dinner

Now–Typically I would drink protein after a workout, but because it was so late in the day, I just made dinner instead. Tuesday’s meal contained flatbread topped with a big spoonful of pesto, sauteed onions and mushrooms, chopped artichoke, chicken, garlic, and cheese, plus my typical side of brussel sprouts topped with olive oil, salt and pepper and baked in the oven.

Dessert: 

2013–Even in the depths of my eating disorder, I never skipped dessert. I typically had a big bowl of ice cream to end my day (mostly because I was still pretty hungry usually and needed a quick sugar boost to feel satisfied).

Now– Dessert came in two forms last night. First was a big bowl full of coconut-flavored Cosmos popcorn. After finishing that, I still needed something sweet, so I took the spoon to the ice cream tub I have in my freezer and had a big bite or two straight from the tub!

As I type this post, it’s extremely eye-opening for me as I realize just how much better I’m doing now. I can’t even fathom going back to my old starvation ways and am so grateful I found support to overcome my illness. For those of you struggling, please know that there is hope. Food is WAY too good to pass up to fit a mold you aren’t meant for and life is so much better when you reach true food peace.

On that note, I’ll let you get back to your Thursday. Eat something yummy! 🙂

Leave a Reply

