Halloween Weekend Favorites

Happy Friday (and almost Halloween)! I’m checking back in today before heading off to a busy work day before kicking off a low-key weekend. As I mentioned yesterday, Bart and I don’t have many plans aside from the Husky Football game Saturday night and meeting up with some friends for drinks afterwards, but I’m actually excited to keep things a little more relaxed after being on the go for the past few weekends. Maybe I can finally catch up on all that sleep I’ve been missing from my early morning trips to the gym. 🙂

Now to keep things light, short, and sweet, I’m here to bring you a quick peek into some of my favorite new finds over the course of the past few weeks since I haven’t done a Friday Favorites post in quite some time. For those of you who may be new to the blogging scene, Friday Favorites is hosted by Heather over at Life in Leggings and is a chance for bloggers across the globe to share some of their favorite food, fitness, or just plain old fun finds from throughout their past week. Play along and share some of your favorite finds in the comments section below!

Food

Mini Twix Bars–Even though Bart and I will be pretty lame this Halloween and aren’t planning on dressing up, I definitely wasn’t about to pass up Halloween candy! Twix bars are probably one of my favorites, so our candy bowl is stocked full of them at the moment and I’m curious to see how long the big bag I bought actually lasts us.

Though the photo doesn't do it justice, this parfait has been my go to lately--totally delicious and easy to throw together in the morning!
Though the photo doesn’t do it justice, this parfait has been my go to lately–totally delicious and easy to throw together in the morning!

Homemade Yogurt Parfaits– Yes, I’ve actually started to stray away from my typical overnight oats on occasion (big shocker–I know!). My latest breakfast of choice has been 2% Fage Greek Yogurt with a sliced banana and some of my Nature Box French Toast granola sprinkled on top. I’m still on that full-fat greek yogurt kick and I swear I don’t think I’ll ever be able to go back. These parfaits have actually been quite filling and I tend to choose these on days when I decide to work out after work because they don’t leave me feeling overly full.

chili

White Chicken Chili– Chilly fall days have been calling for a nice, warm bowl of soup for dinner. Although I wouldn’t classify this recipe as chili, it’s definitely delicious and will be showing up on the blog next week when I finally give you the full recipe. Bart and I have had this for the past two weeks because it’s so simple to make and totally satisfying on a cold day.

Fitness

runs

6.5 Mile Treadmill Runs– It’s kind of a bummer that it’s getting so chilly outside because I finally feel like I’m getting back into my running groove and am starting to get the itch to get back out there and start racing again! I’ve been trying to get in 6.5 mile runs twice a week in under 50 minutes and have been loving every minute of them. Running has turned into my release from the stresses associated with my new job and I’ve been feeling stronger and stronger on the treadmill with each passing week. I’m going to start incorporating interval and hill training into my routine soon and probably adding another day of running to my workout regimen to get stronger overall. Next Spring, I’m gonna kick my 1:42 half marathon time out of the park 🙂

Found on Pinterest--my go-to for quick workouts in the morning
Found on Pinterest–my go-to for quick workouts in the morning

This Core Workout– I’ve been trying to fit in some core training at least twice a week and this workout is usually my go-to. I love the solid mix of exercises and I always try to complete the entire set in under 10 minutes with few breaks in between. You’ll definitely feel the burn!

Fun!

anniversarycourse dinner

dinnerdin1

9-Course Anniversary Dinner–By far the fanciest and most delicious food I’ve ever eaten in my entire life! For our anniversary last week, Bart took me to a 9-course dinner at Art of the Table in Seattle and we both could not get enough of the food! If you’re willing to splurge and looking for a good date spot (or just in the mood for some 5-star food), you NEED to check this place out. The ambiance is a lot more laid back than we both assumed it would be, but the food was out of this world!

nashville

Nashville– As I mentioned in my post yesterday, I’m slowly getting hooked on this show. Bart and I watched the entire series of Friday Night Lights last year, so I was so excited to see Connie Britton back at it! Plus I’ve always been a Hayden Panettiere fan. It’s a girly show with live country music–right up my alley!

And with that, I’ll let you all get on with your Halloween weekend! Have a fabulous one 🙂

2 thoughts on “Halloween Weekend Favorites

Leave a Reply

