Guess Who’s Back

Bet you thought you’d seen the last of me last October, huh? 🙂

After taking a much-needed 3 month break, I’ve decided to jump back in to blogging with a couple caveats in my back pocket:

  1. My relationships and my job will always come first: When I first started this blog, I was adamant about gaining followers and trying to get the word out about healthy balances in life since the topic had become so important to me. I slowly fell into a rhythm where I was coming home from a crazy day at work and sitting down at my laptop to  bust out a substantial post for the next day, making dinner, and then spending the last hour of my night watching TV with Bart before hitting the hay to restart the process the next morning. As a healthy living blogger, I started to realize this wasn’t balance. So after taking some time to figure out my work schedule, I feel comfortable starting up this blog again with the understanding that posts may not happen all the time. My goal is to get 1-2 posts up each week, but if I start to feel strapped for time again, this may decrease.
  2. I want to have a healthy balance of life and exercise posts: Since we last chatted, I’ve started working with a running coach who has absolutely changed my entire workout routine for the better. I’ve been hitting paces I haven’t hit since before I quit exercising to get healthy again and have signed up for a half marathon in early March and my first FULL marathon on May 1st. Thus, running and training have become a HUGE excitement in my life. I also want to focus on regular events in my life though. As I’ve looked back over my blog posts, I love being able to relive special moments I’ve had with loved ones and want to continue to do this as time goes on. Hopefully you guys will enjoy the balance in posts as much as I anticipate that I will! 🙂
  3. If things ever become too much, I’ll make sure to step away from blogging again: As mentioned in #1, my relationships and career are my top priorities right now. If I ever get back to the point that I was in previously, I’ve made a promise to myself to step away from the blog again and get back on track. I love blogging, but I’ve taken on a new role at work with a lot more responsibility, so between that, training for my marathon, and trying to be a great girlfriend/friend/daughter/sister, blogging may need to take the backseat at times.

So with all of that being said, I’m SO excited to be back and can’t wait to catch up with all of you! I’m sure I’ll be bringing you all up to speed on my life as I get back in the blogging groove, but here are a few pictures of highlights from the past few months that you’ve missed:

mom&irun

I PR’d my 5K time (now–22:58!) with very little training in a Turkey Trot with my mama. We decided this will be our new Thanksgiving tradition, even though we just about froze our fingers off.

turkeyday.jpg

Thanksgiving with my family, Bart, and my grandparents happened to be one of the best to date!

tailgate.jpg

The Huskies won the Apple Cup and made it to a Bowl Game (which we won 🙂 ) and we all got to go to the game for the first time ever!

bartgraduate.jpg

Bart finished his undergrad and ended up getting an amazing job! Couldn’t be any prouder of him!

christmas

Christmas with the family was pretty amazing as well! My grandma let me help her bake up all of the usual Christmas treats this year, which is an honor since her candy recipes are to die for!

NYC.jpg

Bart and I took our trip to NYC and it was absolutely incredible! So excited to continue to travel the world with this guy!

centralpark

I decided Central Park is one of my favorite places in America. No idea why, but we ended up coming back multiple times just to walk around and take all of the scenery in.

italy

Bart surprised me with a trip to Italy this summer at the strike of midnight on New Years! Still in shock our next trip will be my first time in Europe!

run.jpg

I’ve ran more miles at faster paces pain-free than I have in over a year and am on track to run a sub-4 hour marathon in May–one of the items on my bucket list!

And with that I leave you! Have a fabulous weekend and stay warm!!

 

XOXO

One thought on “Guess Who’s Back

Leave a Reply

