Life Lately + Why Bad Runs are Good

Well hello there! Sorry it’s been a while. Life has been crazy (as usual), but I’ve finally found some time to squeeze in a little blog post to update you on life lately. So grab a cup of coffee and let’s catch up!

catchup

First things first, if you’ve been following my blog for a while, you clearly can see that I’ve changed it up a bit since my last post. Anyone digging the new theme? Think I need to return to my classic pink background with flowers? I figured it was time to grow the blog up a bit and freshen it up. Hopefully you don’t miss the pink too much 🙂

gramma

Since our last chat, a lot has changed. For starters, my grandmother on my mom’s side has gotten very sick and been admitted to a nursing home, so majority of my weekends have been spent traveling up north to visit her and the rest of my family. Things have been extremely tough, but it’s nice to be surrounded by such a strong and loving family in the middle of such a difficult time. That being said, all prayers and good thoughts are welcomed!

I’ve also had a crazy few weeks at work lately and can officially say I’ve successfully launched and completed my first big marketing campaign at work! I’m so grateful that I’ve been able to land a job that I love right out of college that has a significant impact on a company. I’m already in the works of beginning my next big project, so hopefully it goes just as well. No rest for the weary 🙂

Bart and I finally brought our month-a-versary dates back and I’m so excited! This past Sunday we celebrated 3 years and 4 months (yes–we’re total dorks and keep track) and celebrated at one of the best brunches we’ve ever had. Note to self: you can’t beat the ‘hole in the wall’ restaurants with big slabs of butter on everything.

run

And on the fitness front, marathon training overall has been going extremely well. I’m feeling more and more confident that I CAN finish the 26.2 in less than 10 weeks and am excited to continue on this crazy training journey.

Although majority of my runs lately have been going pretty well, about a week and a half ago I had one of the worst runs of my training so far. I had made the dumb decision to run my 12-mile tempo run on a treadmill just in case I needed to jump off early to go to work or be with family. After a week of stress from work and life in general, I realize now that an outdoor run would’ve been much better therapy than staring at the treadmill and watching the minutes slowly pass by.

I started off sore, which I knew was strike one. Typically my legs feel fairly regenerated since my Thursdays and Fridays aren’t as tough of workouts, so when I started warming up at 8:35 pace and was hurting, I knew it was going to be a long workout.

As I started to build my speed to sit at the 7:48 pace my coach had called for between mile 3 – 8, I started struggling to keep up with the treadmill belt. I typically can breeze through this speed and have been holding 7:30 pace comfortably, so I knew this wasn’t a good sign. Strike two.

I finally decided to listen to my legs and slow my pace to 8:15 to try to finish out the run, with every intension of resting up a bit to pick it up the last mile and at least end on a strong note. But clearly, that never happened. I left the treadmill with 3 miles to go and finished up outside before leaving the gym feeling defeated. Strike three.

After coming home, eating a big plate of pancakes, and showering for about 35 minutes, I decided to plop down on the couch and catch the last half hour of the olympic trials marathon. The ladies in this race were truly incredible and it was so cool to watch the two female leaders help each other to the finish line.

marathon

In this moment, it all clicked. Not every run can be a good run. No matter how well intentioned we are, not every day is going to be a good day. I mean, that’s life. I remember as a swimmer, there were days you would hit the water and post a PR no matter what race you were swimming and then there were other days where no matter how hard you tried or how much it hurt, you couldn’t even come close to your best times. But in these moments, these ‘fails’, you learn to appreciate the good moments.

I was ticked off when I left the gym because I felt like I hadn’t performed my best, but in reality, I had given it everything I had and my body just wasn’t feeling like running 12 miles. It happens. That’s life. Sometimes we just aren’t meant to go fast, and that’s okay! We should appreciate our bodies for putting forth the effort regardless of how things end up.

Going into this past weekend, I was a little nervous about the 15-miler coach had on my training schedule. I’d never ran over 13.1, so the thought of running 15 after a terrible 12-miler was a little scary. But I got up at 7AM, laced up my running shoes, and just focused on enjoying the ride. And guess what…

15

I finished and felt GREAT!

Have a fabulous day. Go be amazing! 🙂

 

 

Leave a Reply

