A Busy Weekend + Recovery Week Review

Happy Monday (and Bachelor-season-finale day for all of my Bachelor fans out there). I hope you all had a wonderful weekend and found some time to relax and have some fun before we jump into the next week ahead of us. My weekend was actually a lot busier than I had initially anticipated, but I was able to catch up with good friends, eat tons of good food, and get a great 8-mile run in so overall I’d say it was a success! ๐Ÿ™‚

Friday night, Bart and I decided to start our new going-to-be-weekly tradition of hitting a restaurant in the area that we had never been to before. After talking with our coworkers about what some of the yummiest places are, we’ve finally started pulling together a list and chose to hit Pomegranate Bistro in Redmond. For anyone who lives around the Seattle area and hasn’t eaten here, we highly recommend! Bart and I ended up deciding to split a few appetizers and one of their yummy flatbreads and left 100% satisfied!

dinner
Weekending with all the carbs + some alcohol. I mean it’s all about balance right?

The Basil-Chicken Firebread was definitely our favorite. We also went with the parmesan fries and calamari & artichoke appetizer. French fries are probably one of my top 10 favorite foods and I definitely wasn’t disappointed.

Saturday morning was a little bit slower, which is always nice. I ended up waking up a little earlier than normal and decided to head out for my 8-mile run before the rain came in for the day. I got about halfway through before it started to pour like nobodies business, which made the second half of my run less than optimal. But I got my first long run since my race last weekend in the books, so I took it as a win!

8miles
8 miles at 8:11 pace in the pouring rain

The second half of the day got a little bit busier. Bart and I hit a couples massage that he had bought for us for our 3-year anniversary (yes our anniversary was in October, but this was the earliest we could get in–crazy!) and then ended up heading back into the city to meet up with some friends for game night and bar hopping.

massage
Sleepy post-massage eyes

P.S. — if you’ve never heard of the game Fishbowl, it’s worth a Google (if that’s even what it’s really called). We had an absolute blast and were laughing for a solid 3 hours. So fun!!

Sunday was spent grocery shopping, meal prepping, and a lot of blog work to prep for the week ahead! I’ve had a really cool blogging opportunity come up, so my goal is to get back into my normal routine of daily posts. Here’s to seeing if I can make it work with my schedule! I’ll share a little more information on this in the next few days.

The evening was spent with Bart’s family eating tons of yummy Polish food and catching up with everyone before another crazy week gets kicked off. Although I didn’t have a lot of down time this weekend, I’m going into the week with a full heart ready to attack whatever craziness may lay ahead!

Now onto my workouts…

I’ve decided to bring back my weekly workout review as inspired by Ashley. I figure this is a good way to share what kinds of workouts I’m doing and how I’m progressing in my training as I shoot for a half marathon PR in early May.

Monday 3 miles really easy (8:48/mile pace):ย After my devastating finish last weekend in my half, my body was still in tons of pain so this run was done really slowly on the treadmill. My goal wasn’t speed or even getting in mileage, but more regenerating my legs and trying to work out some of the lactic acid that had built up due to my lack of cooldown. Not fun miles in the least, but I was able to finish them.

Tuesday4 miles easy + 8 x 20 second top moderate pick ups:ย This run felt much better and although my pickups weren’t necessarily fast, I was able to work on my running form a bit which was a plus.

WednesdayOFF:ย Still working on recovering

Thursday6 miles (1 warmup, 4 at 8:00 pace, 1 cooldown) + 15 minutes of core:ย 8:05/mile average, but I ran more miles than I was supposed to and got a lot more sore because of it. I’ll talk about this run a little more in tomorrow’s post.

FridayPure Barre class:ย I hadn’t been to barre in a few weeks and it was SO intense, especially because I was still sore from racing.

Saturday8 mile run

SundayOFF

Overall a solid recovery week aside from one small breakdown on Thursday. I’m feeling a lot better today and ready to hop into a tougher line up of workouts this week. Up today — 6 miles with the middle 4 at 8:00 pace. Time to make it happen! ๐Ÿ™‚

Have a wonderful start to your week and go Team Lauren B.! (Bachelor reference for those of you who may not be as obsessed as I am ๐Ÿ™‚ ).

2 thoughts on “A Busy Weekend + Recovery Week Review

  1. I like your tradition of trying a new restaurant- how fun! I’m totally watching The Bachelor finale tonight- Team Lauren over here too ๐Ÿ˜‰

    Like

Leave a Reply

