A Sunny Weekend Recap + Weekly Workouts

Anyone else feel like this weekend flew by exceptionally fast? As I sit down to write this post, I feel like it should only be Saturday evening rather than Sunday. The sun must have definitely had something to do with it. This weekend was full of fun little adventures around the city since my little brother was in town and the weather was absolutely gorgeous for the first weekend in what’s felt like forever! Just like last week, I’ll let my pictures do most of the talking as I walk you through how I spent the last few days…

 

out

Friday night kicked off in downtown Bellevue as soon as Bart got off work. It was SO gorgeous out so basically everyone living in the area was out and about.

chopsalad.jpg

Dinner at 520 Bar and Grill was amazing as usual– I went with my favorite Southwest Chicken Salad & a glass of sparkling Rose and wasn’t disappointed. THE best.

 

tay.jpg

My not-so-little brother went with the not-so-little plate of nachos and barely made it through half. Good effort tough T!

bro

After Taylor finished up at his test Saturday morning (he had to take a 2-hour exam to get into the UW Business School next year), he headed back to my apartment and we got ready to head downtown for a little shopping and tourist-ing.

uw

Gorgeous day shopping around U-Village and Downtown. Once again, everyone was out soaking up the sun in good spirits even though it was only about 65. Us Seattle-ites just have to take what we can get at this point in the year!

din2

After shopping, we headed back to my place for a little BBQing to watch the Final Four Basketball games. I was stoked to see Villanova kick butt this weekend (if they win tonight, I win both brackets I entered–WOO!). Salmon burgers, sweet potato fries, and broccoli salad hit the spot!

racing.jpg

Because Taylor’s only 19, the bars were out the question for Saturday night. Thus, go-karting happened. Unfortunately, I don’t think I have much of a future in Nascar, but we had a blast!

brunch

Sunday morning, Taylor headed back home bright and early and Bart and I headed to his hometown to hit up one of our favorite restaurants for Brunch with his family. If you are from the area and haven’t been to Salty’s for their weekend brunch, you definitely need to check it out!

sunday.jpg

Another picture from right before we left Bart’s house for Brunch. It’s always fun to spend extra time with my second family 🙂

sunny.jpg

Cheesin’ because it’s sunny and a selfie was more than necessary!

Other Sunday activities without photos for proof included a 2 hour walk with Bart along the Kirkland waterfront followed by some grocery shopping and Netflix bingeing. We’re finally getting into House of Cards after finishing all of the Office for the second time and are hooked!

Hope your weekend was full of fun and relaxation too! 🙂

Now onto my…

Weekly Workouts

This past week was another tough one for me mentally because of my injured left calf and ankle. I did my best to bring the intensity in all of my elliptical workouts, but I’m definitely ready to be healthy again so I can get back to work on the treadmill and road! I’m feeling better today, but still plan on taking a few more days to make sure I’m 100% healthy this time before attempting to get back at it. Hopefully my patience pays off and I’m ready to go by the time my half marathon rolls around– exactly 4 weeks from today (Sunday)!

Monday4 mile run at 8:05 pace (so painful afterwards) & the final 2 miles done on the elliptical + 15 minutes of core. Clearly my body needed more time to recover because these four miles left me in SO much pain. Thus the reason I still have yet to finish a full run.

Tuesday45 minutes of RPM + a 15-minute upper body circuit. Typical Tuesday workout left my drenched in sweat. There were a ton of hills in this class, which made it 10x harder than normal!

Wednesday70 minutes of elliptical (10 min warm-up, 4 x 8:00 moderate resistance with 4:00 easy between, 10:00 coold-down). Another TOUGH elliptical workout. I’m hoping all of the effort I put into hitting my RPM goals on the elliptical will pay off once I’m back to running.

Thursday30 minutes of spinning with rolling hills + 10-minutes of core. This spin felt so good on my legs after Wednesday’s workout.

Fridaya Pure Barre class. Lots of focus on core work, which left me pretty sore Saturday morning.

Saturday1 hour elliptical with 30 seconds pick-ups at a HARD pace sprinkled throughout. This workout kicked my butt!

Sunday–Off.
Thanks for the link up Meghan!

And with that, I’m back to my Netflix binge before the weekend officially ends. Enjoy your Monday friends! :)

 

 

4 thoughts on “A Sunny Weekend Recap + Weekly Workouts

  1. Wow, that’s an impressive exercise regimen. I take a whole lot more rest days myself, like all of them lately. Ha.

    Having family in town is always the best; sunny weather doesn’t hurt either.

    Happy Monday and thanks for linking up.

    Like

  2. It sounds like you had an awesome weekend! Don’t worry about the go-karting as you couldn’t be worse than me! We went go karting in New Zealand and I totally went the wrong way coming out of the pitts or whatever they call them because I was too busy freaking out that I was going to suffocate to listen and interpret the guy’s instructions in his thick New Zealand accent haha!

    Like

Leave a Reply

