What I Ate Wednesday

Happy hump day!! Just two to three quick days until we’ve officially made it to another weekend! I’m counting down the minutes since this weekend I’ll be heading back to Eastern Washington for some much needed R&R. The weather is supposed to be in the 80’s while we’re there and my parents have already given me the low down on all of the awesome meals & drinks we’ll be having (yes–my entire family is comprised of foodies), so I’m stoked!

WIAW.png

Speaking of food, today I’m pulling together another What I Ate Wednesday post for you that’s reflective of all of my eats yesterday! I LOVE food and love the idea of getting new recipe ideas from these types of posts, so I’m hoping you enjoy it too! These posts are in no way meant to be used as a comparison tool for your own life. As someone who’s dealt with an eating disorder in the past, I’m passionate about spreading the word about the importance of fueling your body in the way that’s right for you, which means not copying my eating habits. That being said, feel free to sprinkle in a few of my meal ideas to your hearts content! 🙂

breakfast.jpg

Breakfast– No need to quit what’s working for me, right? These overnight oats have been making a regular appearance in my life and I’m still not even close to sick of them. These babies include 1/2 cup of oats, a little over 1/2 cup of unsweetened vanilla almond milk, a big spoonful of plain greek yogurt, a big spoonful of PB, and a sliced banana on top. Not the most attractive breakfast, but it keeps me full and satisfied for a good chunk of the morning!

yogurt.jpg

Morning Snack– Blueberry & Acai Greek Yogurt. Fage yogurt will forever have my heart. Or at least until I find something thats even YUMMIER! Unfortunately this one wasn’t the full-fat yogurt I usually go with (Trader Joe’s didn’t have the full fat option this week), so it wasn’t quite as filling, but still incredibly delicious.

lunch.jpg

Lunch–Shortly after my snack (no fats = Mackenzie is hungry in an hour again), it was time to break into my lunch. Today was leftovers from last night’s dinner–sweet potato skillet which included roasted sweet potatoes, roasted peppers and onions, and jalapeño chicken sausage slices. It was a little chilly out today, so this warm lunch was perfection after I got done with my mid-day walk.

bar.jpg

Snack #1– a KIND bar. These coconut almond-flavored bars are my absolute favorite.

snack.jpg

Snack #2– I came back from work STARVED. Spinning this morning clearly booted my metabolism into full gear because I had one of those moments where I felt like I could eat everything in my kitchen. I settled for a cup of cereal with almond milk since dinner was only an hour away.

Buuuuuuuuut I got hungry again and went back for a cookies & cream egg. Unpictured. No regrets.

dinner.jpg

Dinner–These Buffalo Chicken Wraps have been making a weekly appearance around my apartment because they’re SO good! Bart makes a secret buffalo sauce recipe (mostly secret because he never measures ingredients, but goes by taste) that makes the meal. I’ll definitely be sharing the recipe with all of you soon, but to give you a general idea, they’re filled with chicken, broccoli slaw, red onion, avocado, cheese, and plain greek yogurt. Plus a side of roasted brussels because we’re also addicted to this side. Delish!

halotop.jpg

Dessert–Another chocolate egg (unpictured) happened right after dinner because I always end my dinner with something sweet when I can. A few hours later, I went back for my real dessert of the night which was comprised of the second half of my pint of Birthday Cake Halo Top ice cream. It’s definitely not as good as the real stuff, but this healthy alternative is the best healthy ice cream I’ve ever had!

And that concludes my daily eats! Thanks for the link up from Jenn and Laura. Enjoy the remainder of your day and eat something yummy for me 🙂

4 thoughts on “What I Ate Wednesday

Leave a Reply

