Injury Update + Friday Faves

HAPPY FRIDAY!!!

I’m so happy to announce that I finally have some answers on my ankle! After failing to run more than half a mile yesterday, I finally caved and decided I needed to head back to visit my Physical Therapist to make sure nothing too serious was happening. Thankfully, it sounds like all of my pain is happening for the same reason my knee pain happened last summer– my ankles are overly-flexible and I need to strengthen my hips and core more in order to get better. I left the PT office grateful that I have a game plan to attack this injury and get better, but also a little upset with myself for not continuing to strength train after my body healed.

weights.jpg
Hello weights, my old friends…

My PT doc thinks I have a solid 4 weeks of focus on strength training ahead of me to get back to where I was. When I first heard 4 weeks, I was pretty distraught. That’s a WHOLE MONTH of no running. But I was quickly corrected–just because my focus will be strength training doesn’t necessarily mean I can’t run whatsoever. It just means I need to be very conscious of how I’m feeling and only test out running again once I’m truly ready to attack it.

So what’s this mean for my race in 3 weeks?

relax.jpg

Well, I may be postponing my entry for another year. As much as it kills me to do so, I need to focus on being a long-term runner rather than running a half that probably wouldn’t have been a PR at this point anyways. I’m not making any decisions yet and will give it another week of strength training and resting before I make the final call, but I’m preparing myself for the worst now so if I do end up dropping out, I’m not quite as devastated.

Injuries suck, but my main focus is becoming a long-term runner and this is one of the steps I need to take in order to get there. So it’s time to suck it up and start focusing on getting stronger!

In other Friday news, today around noon, Bart and I will be taking off from work to head back to Eastern Washington for a much needed weekend of relaxation and sunshine! I’m so excited to spend some time with my family, see my doggies, and eat/drink to my hearts content! TGIF!! 🙂

Now onto some Friday Favorites!

Record-High Temperatures

sunshine.jpg

I know sunshine made my favorites list last week, but we had record high temperatures yesterday which made me so so happy! This post almost didn’t go up because all I wanted to do was sit in the sun. Bart and I have been taking walks almost daily to soak up all of the sunshine since day jobs = no enjoying sunny Seattle.

Smoothie Bowls

smoothie.jpg

With warm temperatures comes an undeniable craving for all cold foods (even though ice cream is on tap basically year round). These smoothie bowls have been making regular appearances in my life and have yet to get old! This baby is composed of frozen berries, a banana, a spoonful of PB and enough Almond Milk to get things moving + topped with a bunch of granola. Delish!

Cadburry Mini Eggs

eggs

You guys, I have a serious problem. These mini eggs are pretty much my new addiction (not really new though since this seems to happen every year). I’ve been regularly downing them after dinner and probably won’t be stopping until my bag is completely gone. Sorry not sorry.

Spring Wardrobe Updates

sunday

Last Friday I went on a bit of a shopping splurge and bought some new clothes for spring (apparently this is what I do when it’s nice out and I’m depressed from my lack of daily runs). Nonetheless, I ended up with a few really cute pieces that I’m excited to bust out this season and in Italy.

So excited it’s Friday! Hope you all have awesome weekends as well 🙂

2 thoughts on “Injury Update + Friday Faves

  1. Hooray for figuring out what’s going on with your ankle! I feel like there’s few things worse than not knowing what’s going on with your body, so it’s always a relief when you find out what’s happening!

    Your outfit in that last picture is super cute! xo

    Like

Leave a Reply

