20-Minute Hip Strength Circuit

Happy Tuesday folks!

I’m writing this post right now as I lay out in the sunshine after work on Monday in 90 degree Seattle weather– and it’s only mid-April!! As much as I love this weather right now, I know this is a big sign that this summer is going to be a scorcher, which is a little bit scary for Seattle-ites since very few buildings are air conditioned–including my apartment! I have a small A/C unit that I will be making Bart help me install as soon as he gets off of work, so hopefully that helps me cope a little more with this crazy heat wave we’re witnessing. I guess this just gives me more of a reason to stock my freezer full of ice cream, right? 🙂

sun.jpg

Now onto today’s topic: Hip Strength. This has become my focus over the past few weeks because of the funky ankle pain I’ve been fighting since late March. There are a number of reasons that my doctor, coach, and physical therapist have uncovered as to why my ankle has been inflamed for over a month (but on the brink of being completely healed up now!). Overpronation was the ultimate culprit behind all of my ankle pain, but it was interesting to learn that there were quite a few factors that played into this. First, my ankles are extremely flexible from swimming and my joints are still getting used to the pressure running puts on them. I guess that explains why swimmers can’t & typically hate to run. The second reason is my genetic build–running just takes a little extra prep work for me naturally because of the way my joints and limbs move around.

The third, most controllable reason is my lack of hip strength. Apparently sitting at a desk 40+ hours a week doesn’t do much to help athletes avoid injury. In fact, some people consider sitting the new smoking in terms of how much it can hurt your body if done for long periods of time. Now I’m definitely not preaching that we all need to get standing desks and avoid sitting whatsoever (which can be harmful in itself), but there are some things you can do to fend off pesky injuries that keep you from training or just keep you healthy overall and hip strengthening exercises and stretches are one way to do it!

This circuit has been my go-to over the past few weeks. I do it 3 days a week after work and always feel so rejuvenated after I’ve wrapped up the workout. It only takes about 20 minutes or so, which makes it totally doable even after a long day at work.

Screen Shot 2016-04-18 at 5.47.50 PM.png

The main focus of this circuit is to use your hips to complete each exercise while keeping them in alignment throughout. The first few weeks I noticed I was extremely sore afterwards, so make sure to stretch a little extra and give your muscles some love once you wrap up the final set!

Have a fabulous day!

6 thoughts on “20-Minute Hip Strength Circuit

Leave a Reply

