Updates + Week of Workouts

These last few days have been pretty rough for my family. On Thursday morning, I got a call at work that my grandma and grandpa on my mom’s side were both very sick and in the hospital. I’ve spent the past few days with my family working through this difficult time and feel I’m more at peace with things now and have since returned home to try to get through as much of the work week as possible since I have a lot going on in the office that I need to take care of.

It’s been rough. No one wants to see their loved ones suffer and it’s difficult to fathom a life without people that you’ve grown up knowing. Death can be such a scary thing, but knowing that heaven awaits us on the other side makes it much more of a peaceful transition. God has been the rock holding my family together this week and we’re all so grateful for that.

I think going through trials like this make you truly appreciate the time we have on this planet. As I mentioned in last Thursday’s post, life passes so quickly and this weekend has just proved that point even further, which just means we need to quit taking time and people for granted. We need to stop holding grudges over silly little things. We need to tell people we love them every day. We truly need to live as if each day was our last.

My family and I appreciate any and all prayers or good thoughts sent our way over the next week. Life can be tough, but we’ve been able to find strength in God and one another to get through this difficult time.

Now to get things back to the normal weekly blog cadence, let’s dig a little into my week of workouts.

Weekly Workouts

This past week was another great one in terms of running. Because I was out of town for a few days towards the end of the week, workouts changed up a little bit, but I was still able to get a great treadmill run in on Saturday that really helped clear my head and relieve some stress. Crazy how much a solid run can help! I’m so grateful I’m getting so close to being back 100% and ready to train!

Monday10-minute bike warm-up, 2.4 mile run, 20-minute elliptical + PM Strength. Mixed up cardio workouts are quickly turning into my norm. As much as I’d rather just run for an entire hour, I’m happy to be mixing things up now instead of just staying on the elliptical. This was another great run and it felt great to warm-up my legs on the bike. This may become a normal thing even after I’m fully recovered!

Tuesday45 minutes of RPM + a 15-minute upper body circuit. Typical spin class with an upper body circuit. I was SO tired this morning, but felt a million times better after I worked out. Gotta love those post-exercise endorphins! 🙂

WednesdayAM– 1:05 elliptical with 10, 15, 20 minute pick-ups incorporated+ PM session of strength. This was an interesting workout. After a 5-minute warm-up, I did a 10 minute pick up, then rested for 5, then did a 15 minute pick-up with a faster cadence, then rested for 5, and ended with a 20 minute pick-up with even a faster cadence before cooling down. Such a mentally tough one, but felt so good to accomplish!

Thursday 10 minutes bike warm-up, 2 mile run, 30-minutes of strength. Another great run in the books. Plus I did an awesome strength workout that will definitely be shared soon!

FridayOff for family emergency.

Saturday 6.5 mile run on the treadmill with extra stretching. This was not planned and my coach would probably be upset that I went for so long, but it just felt good to run at this point in my weekend. I walked the last .3 miles and didn’t have any pain which is a great sign!

Sunday– Rest

It was a tough week emotionally, but I’m glad I was still able to get in some great workouts. Hopefully this week’s workouts bring me just as much peace as Saturday’s run.

Thanks for the link-up Meghan. Have a wonderful Monday!

6 thoughts on “Updates + Week of Workouts

  1. I’m so sorry to hear things have been tough for you all! I’ll be keeping your family in my prayers as I know exactly how you’re feeling! I’m so glad to hear that you’ve all been holding it together though – and turning to God for the strength you can’t muster up right now!

    Like

Leave a Reply

