Total Body Superset Circuit

Since I’ve spent majority of my life as a swimmer and runner, strength workouts have never been my favorite. I’m a total cardio junky and feel like I get a lot more out of a tough run rather than lifting heavy weights. After my injury last month though, I’ve been making a conscious effort to incorporate more strength workouts in my weekly routine to prevent injuries from happening again.

Thankfully, I’ve been able to find tons of strength routines for runners online that serve as my inspiration when I just don’t feel like picking up dumbbells. This routine is one of my new favorites because I feel like I get a tough, full body workout while also getting a little extra boost of cardio in since I go through each exercise fairly quickly.

The other great thing about this circuit is that it’s comprised of exercises grouped together as supersets. For those of you who have never done a superset workout before, this just means that two or three exercises are grouped together and one set of each is done multiple times before moving on to the next group of exercises. This is key for me because it keeps my mind and body guessing and makes the workout fly by. Plus, instead of just exhausting one muscle group at a time, you get the chance to mix it up. Less immediate pain = higher intensity (at least for me 🙂 ).

This circuit usually takes me around 30 – 35 minutes (depending how quick I hustle through each set) and always leaves me sore for a few days afterwards. For those of you who may need a little extra boost committing to a strength workout, this ones for you!! 🙂

Screen Shot 2016-05-02 at 5.30.57 PM.png

Now I’m off for my typical Tuesday spin class. Have a fabulous Tuesday!

Leave a Reply

