Unexpected Weekend + Workouts

This past weekend was another rough one for my family, but I was lucky enough to get to spend a lot of quality time with the people I love. I ended up going back home for a few days just to decompress with my parents, brother, and Bart. My mom hadn’t been home in over a week and we all needed a little time away to take a breather and get ready for another stressful week.

Bart and I got an awesome run in on Saturday morning and the rest of the afternoon was spent lounging/sleeping in the sunshine before he left back to Seattle for his brother’s birthday.

Sunday morning, my parents and I got in the car bright and early to spend Mother’s Day with my grandma. As tough as it was to see her so sick, she seemed to be very much at peace with everything which left us feeling a lot better. It’s always difficult to leave at the end of the day because you just never know when you’re saying a forever-goodbye, but we were all so glad we got to spend extra time with her on her special day.

The rest of the weekend was spent prepping for the long week ahead, but I still have loads to catch up on–grocery shopping & laundry folding, woohoo–so let’s jump right ahead to the usual…

Weekly Workouts

I’m so excited to slowly be making my way back to my normal workout cadence as a runner and have had some solid runs under my belt so far without any significant pain– including my first run of the season with Bart. The weather has been so cheery lately and I’m stoked to have the opportunity to soak it up while breaking a sweat every other morning. On top of that, I’ve been doing a fabulous job keeping up on my strength workouts, so I couldn’t be happier with my progress. Portland Marathon–I’m coming for you!! 🙂

Monday10-minute bike warm-up, 3 mile run, 30-minute elliptical + PM Strength.

Tuesday45 minutes of RPM + a 15-minute upper body circuit.

WednesdayAM– 30-minute run + PM session of strength.

Thursday 65-minute elliptical (10, 15, 20-minute pick-ups).

FridayPure Barre.

Saturday 5-mile run in the sunshine.

Sunday– Rest

It was a tough week emotionally, but I’m glad I was still able to get in some great workouts. Hopefully this week’s workouts bring me just as much peace as Saturday’s run.

Have a wonderful Tuesday!

2 thoughts on “Unexpected Weekend + Workouts

Leave a Reply

