Weekend Updates + Week of Workouts

Hi there!

Sorry I missed you all yesterday– I had every intention of writing this post on Sunday evening after dinner with Bart’s family, but ended up feeling a little under the weather and spent the rest of the evening curled up in bed. Not exactly a great way to end the weekend, but the extra relaxation time helped me feel loads better this morning, so it was a good choice!

This weekend was full of a lot of cleaning/packing/shopping. Since I’m moving into a new apartment at the end of the month and planning on leaving town for the weekend to head back to my parent’s house, I was bound and determined to get a lot of the grunt work & cleaning associated with moving out of the way so that when I get back into town on Monday afternoon, I’m not strapped for time to get everything done. Good choice on my part because I feel like I’ve already tackled a ton of work that I would’ve had to get done this week! Total win!

But let’s back up a little bit and talk through weekend happenings. I have to apologize in advance–I’ve been totally sucking at taking pictures to fill these posts, so bear with me as I talk you through my weekend.

Friday was totally laid-back. Bart & I ended up grilling salmon burgers and staying in for the evening, which also resulted in me falling asleep for the night at about 9:30. I know, I know– I’m such a party animal! This is the result of a long week at work, so don’t judge me.

Saturday kicked off with an elliptical workout (dealing with a funky ankle & calf pain again–boo!) and a big ole’ plate of PB & banana pancakes. It was kind of a gloomy morning, so going to the gym was a bit more of a struggle than it typically tends to be, but I rewarded myself afterwards with a good 2 hours of total and utter laziness. Perfect for a Saturday! After I finally cleaned myself up a bit, Bart & I hit the mall to start shopping for our Eurotrip (which is now just over 3 weeks away!!!). Shopping wasn’t quite the success I would’ve liked it to be, but I did pick up a few cute pieces to wear, so it wasn’t a total loss! Saturday evening was spent celebrating Bart’s birthday a few days early at his favorite restaurant– Stanley & Seaports. The food was AMAZING and after a full day of shopping, it felt awesome to just relax, wine & dine. Perfect cap to a busy, but fun day!

dindin.jpg

Sunday was spent–you guessed it– cleaning & packing. While this wasn’t the most exciting way to spend the day, I ended up getting rid of 3 full bags of clothes and shoes and getting everything I won’t need for the next week packed away. I even convinced Bart to help me deep clean a few rooms, which was SO nice to get done. The rest of Sunday was spent at dinner with Bart’s dad and then lazing in my bed as aforementioned.

dinner

And now we’re right back to Monday! As much as I hate to see weekends speed by like this past one did, I also have a ton of exciting things coming up in the next few weeks, so I’m not too sad about it 🙂

Now onto my typical weekly workout recap!

Weekly Workouts

running

This past week was a bit of a bummer. I ended up getting some pain back in my left ankle and a new pain in the back of my calf which I’m attributing to pushing my mileage and speed a little too much before my body was ready. From a cardio and mental perspective, increased mileage and tougher workouts felt great, but my left leg definitely felt otherwise. For now, I’m replacing my runs with more elliptical workouts until I’m fully recovered and I’m hoping I caught this pain early enough that I can get back to running within the next few days or so. We’ll see…

Monday — AM 5-mile easy run+ PM Hip-Strength Circuit.

Tuesday45 minutes of RPM + a 15-minute upper body circuit.

WednesdayAM– 6.3-mile run w/ middle mile at moderate pace + PM session of strength.

Thursday 55-minute elliptical (tempo pick-ups) + Total Body Strength Circuit.

FridayPure Barre.

Saturday 70-minute elliptical playing with tempos + extra stretching

Sunday– Rest

Hope you’re all having a wonderful Tuesday! To set expectations in advance, the next few weeks are looking like they’ll be pretty crazy, so while I’m going to try to keep up with my regular posting cadence, I can’t make any promises that a post will go up everyday. That being said, my main goal is to take tons of pictures, so feel free to follow me on Instagram or prepare to see a lot more visual posts in the coming weeks 🙂

2 thoughts on “Weekend Updates + Week of Workouts

Leave a Reply

