My Running-Related Favorites

Hi there & happy Friday! 🙂

I’m writing you right now from the porch of my brand new apartment and am SO excited that the moving process has officially ended! The past three days have been a whirlwind, but 48 hours and about 48 mini-bruises later, I’m all moved in to my new place and couldn’t be happier with the change. Bart and I spent a good 8 hours after work on Tuesday moving everything over to my new place, finishing right around 1 AM. Wednesday was designated to unpacking (which I’ve now learned is almost as tough as moving things) and Thursday was spent finishing up a few little things and cleaning up a bit. So to say I’m ready for a Friday is a complete understatement!

On the agenda for me this weekend is a whole lotta shopping for my trip to Italy, my first run back since my calf pain flared up again, and brunching/catching up with some of my best friends on Sunday. I feel like my weekends have involved a lot of traveling over the past few months, so I’m excited to be sticking around the area and spending time in my new place over the next few days. Just one more 8-hour day in the office and I’m home free!

Now onto today’s typical “Friday Favorites” post. I’m mixing it up a bit today and instead focusing on my favorite running-related things, in survey form because this post Laura wrote a while ago totally inspired me! Feel free to play along in the comments section if you so wish! 🙂

WOULD YOU RATHER…

RUN A RACE IN 30 DEGREES (F) AND WINDY OR 80 DEGREES AND SUPER SUNNY?

Definitely depends on the distance. If it’s a shorter race (like a 5k) then I’d prefer sunny skies because I can battle heat for 20-ish minutes usually without many issues. Anything above a 10k and I’d rather layer up and run in the cold.

start

Run a beer mile or a color run?

I’m a weirdo and HATE beer, so I’d definitely choose the color run. I ran it once with friends in college and had a blast!

color.jpg

RUN ON THE TRAILS OR IN AN URBAN SETTING?

I love running through the city in the morning before anyone is awake. It’s surprisingly peaceful and I love witnessing Seattle sunrises before most people are out of bed in the summer.

FORGET TO PUT ON DEODORANT OR BODY GLIDE BEFORE A LONG RUN?

I’ve actually never used body glide, so I’d have to go with deodorant on this one.

EAT BACON OR BROWNIES AS MID-RACE FUEL?

Mid-race?! I don’t know if I could stomach either. But if I HAD to choose, I would go with the brownie. Always.

running

WEAR RUNNING SHOES THAT ARE TOO BIG OR TOO SMALL?

Too small or else I’d most definitely trip all over myself.

RUN A CROWDED BIG CITY MARATHON WITH 30,000+ RUNNERS OR RUN A SMALL RURAL MARATHON WITH LESS THAN 200 FINISHERS?

I’m a big fan of big races, so I’d have to choose the crowded city marathon. Bring on the competition 🙂

run.jpg

EAT INDIAN CURRY OR SASHIMI THE NIGHT BEFORE A BIG RACE?

Probably sashimi since I never really know how my body will react to spicy foods–especially the next day.

TRAVEL FOR A GOOD PR RACE OR CHOOSE A LOCAL BUT CHALLENGING RACE?

I love supporting local races (hello Orca Running!) and it’s always nice to sleep in your own bed before a tough run. Plus challenging races always give me an even greater sense of achievement– so local it is! Although I don’t have much experience traveling for races and the Rome Marathon is now on my bucket list…

prerun

EAT SWEET OR SAVORY IMMEDIATELY AFTER FINISHING A RACE OR HARD LONG RUN?

I will forever and always be a sweets girl, so after long runs I always crave something sweet like donuts or pancakes. After races though, I usually find myself craving salt and will go with an omelette or french fries instead.

Thanks for the link-up Heather! Have a fabulous weekend y’all! 🙂

5 thoughts on “My Running-Related Favorites

  1. I am with you on the beer run vs color run! I don’t drink beer so I’d definitely rather go for a color run – though I think I would anyway as they look like so much fun!

    I’m definitely a sweets girl too! How interesting that your tastes change after races though!

    Like

Leave a Reply

